Training yourself in the university is a possibility/Experience

1 53
Avatar for iykewatch
1 year ago
Topics: Experience

This is my life experience and I would love to drop it here perhaps someone could take a lift from my personal experience and become a him/her.

About me in brief

Ikechukwu is my name which means God's power and I have loved to see the name work for me and I try do things the right way knowing it's not by my power but by the power of God working in me.

If you are a regular reader on any blog site you would agree with me that Nigerians are found in almost in all sites this is because the people are hard working in addition to the fact that the government has little or no plans for the masses blogging becomes a way of life.

In 2021 immediately after the COVID-19 lockdown, I was introduced to blogging by a friend who felt my pains and opted to help me make passive income and indeed I have reasons to appreciate him more.

At age 6, I told my parents that I wanted to be a school teacher, and they were why teaching I had no reasons to give them because I was tender to real say what my reasons were but within me each time I close my eyes I only see myself standing before other children and teaching them. And it became a reality when other children within my neighborhood would be sent to me to teach them reading because at age six I heard learn reading and to the shock of everyone, no one taught reading. I never traveled to the city just within the village where #Igbo language was used in teaching yet I speak English, read English and write English.

Again, after my primary education in the village, I refused to continue with my post primary education in my village, I needed a city school where I could face brighter students because I never accepted to school in the village, I stayed one year at home doing nothing. It was within this time that I became more interested with spellings and doing local craft such as weaving of baskets 🧺🧺, hand fans and local mats. While I was at home I was still teaching other children when they return back from school.

I never stopped praying and believing that one day I will go to the city to study. I was already 11 years at the time and in the month of September that year, a distant uncle visited us , he had a copy of the national dailies and I asked him to lend me the news papers for a while and he gave me and sat under the shade of an orange in my father's compound and with all joy in my face handling the newspapers for the first time I was happily reading the paper aloud for the other kids to listen. Though most of the words where too big for me to understand but pronouncing them were very simple for me. This my uncle was amazed how proud I read the newspapers and I called on me and I paused and he asked would you love to go to the City with me? My yes was with a tenor voice and I never cared if my parents would accept of it or not hahahaha and my dream of going to the City finally became a reality.

11th September is the date I will never forget. My first time to board a luxury bus and to embark on a 9 hours night journey I never slept throughout the journey this made my uncle very happy. The next day we arrived our destination and his wife treated my like a prince πŸ’– and ensured I slept because his children had all gone to school before we came in. When I woke from the sleep I saw Emeka and Philip waiting to become friends with me and of a truth they were bright kids .

I stayed only a week and uncle James and his wife bought me school kits and took me to the same school where their two boys attend I promised them my loyalty and I kept it . My first term in the city was difficult for me but my teachers always say "he's not like one who's coming from the village" this made my uncle so happy.

My dreams in the city school.

I didn't think of another thing but how to become a great teacher like sir Anaba, sir Fineface and other great teachers in my community then. My passion for teaching came from the lifestyle of the above mentioned teachers they ensured that every child had good education. Most times,they paid fees for children, they bought books, bags , foot wears, and even took some to their homes and provided them with the best education they could afford at the time.

While hoping to acquire a degree to function as a qualified teacher, after my secondary education, things had become tough with uncle James so my parents insisted I return which I did but I got a better life and light. I was told by my parents to learn electrical installations I won't because feared electricity πŸ”Œ and my father this is what I can afford and I told him to give me the money for the apprenticeship and leave me alone at first he fought me to go his way but no I won't agree to that instead I did some odd jobs raised fund a purchase Teachers' Training College form and I pushed the program two year program and my father my seriousness and he came and supported me.

Obstacles must be in the road to greatness.

A year after I graduated from Teachers' College, the government abolished the program and I fell back to zero degree. I should have reasons to give up at this point but a great teacher is the goal. I decided to work for some years which I did and I saved enough resources that would be almost enough for me within my 4 years in the university and again a bigger challenge came, at this time, I was diagnosed with retina related stuff and I couldn't see for about 8 months. I was blind at this point I told myself I will go to the school of the blind finish and become a teacher of the blind but to the glory of God almighty, I'm not teaching the blind I'm teaching in a normal school and with a university degree Religious and cultural studies/education double honor and I am impacting lives.

History has it that I refused to give up.

Not minding that my parents couldn't afford university degree for me but by the grace of God almighty and personal determination, persistence dreams become a reality.

#Experience #wazobia

Sponsors of iykewatch
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of iykewatch
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for iykewatch
1 year ago
Topics: Experience

Comments

This is so inspiring πŸ₯Ί it's really a different thing when you know what you want right from the start. You'll be able to bravely fight and face head on every challenges that will come to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago