What I've Learned

0 12
Avatar for iyanpol12
2 years ago

I had written few months ago regarding my experience with some of my deaf friends who cut ties, and betrayed me (including some of my friends who are treated badly by them).

It was painful when they decided to fight against us because of their assumptions, and fabricated stories of one of their friends. You know, that deaf person who influenced them is a proof that words can really kill even by non-speaking people.


Learning

Despite what they had done to me, I find it an opportunity to learn. I should not let myself be taken for granted by anyone, either someone who can speak or those who cannot.

I remember when the deaf couple (the wife is the aggressor) needs my help. I helped both of them acquire driver's license from the Land Transportation Office, even taking aside my personal work for them. When the wife wanted to apply for a job, they called and pressured me to go with them, and I have to set aside my laundry. While being interviewed by another deaf person, she can't fully understand even it's sign language. I have to explain everything for her to understand. During pandemic, they need money to pay for their electric bill. I sent them money despite knowing the wife spends money just to go elsewhere (something unimportant). The husband got cuts from a cutting machine, I solicited money from fellow volunteers just to support them for their needs and medicines. From time to time, we gave them relief goods, and the wife even looked down saying it's cheap. I heard enough painful words, and it's time that I'm the one to cut ties with them. I have to save my mental health by blocking them on social media.

Anyway, two of their friends has blocked me with me doing nothing wrong on them. I saw one of them during the funeral of my friend's mother-in-law, and he can't even looked at us they betrayed. In fact, this man has disowned by brother because of the fabricated stories of his best friend, the one mentioned above (the wife).

One of their friends, the kindest actually, is my student. During his darkest times (literally dark, as his vision darkened), I helped him go to the doctor for check-up because his family cannot even interpret what he's saying. I never asked for anything, even her mom insisting to pay my fare. Being a friend, I don't need to be paid for my deeds. I'll do it without expecting anything.

Then recently, I checked his Facebook account after he unfriended me. I wanted to contact him because we don't have issues. He just did what he was told by his friends. He doesn't even care about negative things his friends are telling him. Or probably, they just took his phone and unfriended me and my pals.

I found out he blocked me as well. I cannot message him anymore. I can search out for his phone number as I have sent mobile phone loads but blocking me in social media is a gesture that he cut his ties with me. It doesn't matter if his friends did, he has partly responsible on what they did for allowing them to influence him.

Because of what happened, all I can do is move on. Perhaps one of these days, they need my help. Anyway, the couple's driver's license is on it way for expiration. I couldn't lend my hand anymore to help them.


Demotivated, Trying to Find Motivation

There are times that I feel demotivated on teaching deaf individuals. It pains me to see how some of them being influenced badly. We're here to educate them about life but many of them has turned their backs on us. I feel tired, and I don't know how to deal with them anymore. My trust issues has escalated that I have no more motivations in this voluntary work.

I tried to find motivation but I realized, there are some deaf individuals out there who are treating us well. They gladly appreciate the help we're giving them. That's the motivation that I found, and I'm happy to go on in this voluntary work I am in for 15 years.


Thank you to my sponsor/s below:

Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.26
$ 0.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for iyanpol12
2 years ago

Comments