Invented in the Name of Love

8 317
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Have you ever wondered how a certain thing existed? Like what's the reason of the invention of a specific thing? I know most of the answers are because the scientists or inventors were curious, or wanted to have a point. We were taught of how scientists like Edison invented electric bulb and how Graham Bell invented the idea of telephone. Which of those inventions fascinates you? And which of those do you think are made out of love?


Sunday is cleaning day for me, since I will report to work on site starting tomorrow, I need to pack the things I need for the week's worth of work.

I was printing some essential documents when the printer run out of ink. Fortunately, I bought an extra set of ink last month. In adding some ink, I needed a syringe and this pair of surgical gloves. Nope, I will not perform a surgery but you can call it like that if you want hahaha.

Adding inks is messy and when my fingers are stained, they usually stay for a week. Such a hassle! I did pour some ink using the syringe and not a drop of ink stained my hand. Thanks to these gloves, my hand was protected.

Then, as I look at them awhile ago, my sister came to ask how an inventor had an idea of these gloves. She clarified, did an idea just appeared to one of his dreams and a picture of a surgical glove was there? Or was there something deep behind that?

I remembered how my Science professor put it as the most romantic invention ever - the gloves. Well, they do come in pairs so that's one of the reasons why it's romantic but there's a story behind those gloves.

Have you heard of Halsted? I know the medical people here knew him. He's the one who invented gloves. He's a surgeon and was married to a nurse. He noticed that when his wife came back after a surgery, that her hands were red and chapped. It must've hurt. Then, he invented rubber gloves. For her wife. In the name of love.

It's fascinating to know these kind of stories, how things were made, and the reasons of the invention itself.

Some of the inventions were made because of mere curiosity of the people behind them but some are made because they care for others - their parents, their wives, their husbands, their children, their friends, or even the humanity itself.

At some point in life, we also invent something in the name of love, it could be a customized present or a poem for a loved one.

Have you ever invented something as a product of love? I'd love to know about it ❤️


All pictures are mine.


Thanks for dropping by ❤️ Have a lovely Sunday, readers!

February 13, 2022 | 4:50pm

8
$ 0.95
$ 0.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 2
Sponsors of itsmeCguro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Comments

What a really interesting point my dear really enjoyable but I want to say one thing scientist invented most of thing in love

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah that's amazing! I never thought about it until you explained it to us. Such cute origin of the word Gloves. 💖

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Right? It makes us realize that we can love to the point of inventing something.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oww nice I learned something interesting and new today hehe. gloves huh, so the name was derived from love and what the "G" stands for? hehe Go Love charrr

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yeah! Haven't thought of that awhile ago. Maybe, maybe hahaha chineer pala ang love ano 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halsted? Never. Maybe my Doctor knew.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, you mean Your Doctor? 😁 Currently reading her articles though 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes dear. You are right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago