Devastating Reasons Why I Like It Even Though It Hurts

17 35
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Heartbroken. Devastated. Unable to function. Dumbfounded.

This is me these past few days. I was hurt and it still does hurt and I don't know how to proceed with this kind of feeling.

It was my first time to encounter this kind of emotion. It feels like I'm dealing with a break up but I am not. I am still in a healthy relationship.

It is not about us. It is not about me. It is about that kdrama that made me cry a river, that made my eyes swell. Yup, it is about that kdrama that made me sleep late at night.

It was Yijin and Heedo of Twenty five, twenty one.

Disclaimer:

CONTINUE READING IF you haven't watched the series yet and you don't have a plan watching it.

SKIP THIS IF you're planning of watching this series, this article might spoil you.


While reading this, try to listen to this as well. This is Twenty Five, Twenty One's OST.

Yijin and Heedo really had a special relationship. It's not the cliché romcom couple, there's something about this drama that really got me. I don't know if it's the vibe, it's the same with Reply series, especially Reply 1988 or if it is the situations, the scenarios in the series that made me love it even more.

In this article, I'll state the devastating reasons why I still like this series despite the fact that it broke my heart.

I can relate to Heedo

Maybe not in all ways, but in some ways. Having a parent who's always busy, a parent who doesn't even have a time with you, that's one of the heartbreaking scenes for me.

I grew up independent. My mom used to work abroad and my dad was working as well. They were both busy. Eating alone and spending time alone is my forte that's why it's not difficult for me to watch movies alone in the cinemas and eat alone in restaurants. I can still remember attending awarding ceremonies but my parents weren't there to stand on the stage with me and receive the awards. It was my friends' parents who filled that void. They were the ones who stood beside me when I received my awards back then when the reason I wanted to excel was for my parents to spend some time with me.

With that, I grew up wanting to always spend quality time with my loved ones. I treasure the times I spend with my friends and of course, with my partner. It is one of my non-negotiables in life. I know the feeling of being left behind, waiting, being disappointed. If people wanted to spend their time with me, they will make an effort.

And that was heartbreaking in this drama, Yijin, decided to stay in New York for his work, leaving Heedo all alone in Korea. Heedo longs for quality time. It is what she was deprived of and now, she's expecting Yijin to give that need, unfortunately, Yijin cannot do that for the sake of his career and his all time goal, to reunite his family. He thought choosing his career will make Heedo happy but it was the opposite. He knew that being away from Heedo, not meeting her deepest need, was devastating. They had been rooting for each other, despite the distance, and yet they grew apart. Rooting for each other's success and happiness meant not being together and that hurts a lot! They then decided to let go of each other despite the fact that they still love each other. For me, this kind of break up is the worse. There's no third party, just two people in love, choosing what's best for the other even if it means hurting yourself. Okay, now I'm crying 🥺

It is growing up, in a nutshell

It depicts the bittersweet reality of growing up. It means losing friends, losing lovers, chasing dreams, making yourself better, and knowing better.

Memories are what's left behind. Even if those people we thought will be there for us forever were gone, we can still remember the happy moments we've shared with them. One of the lines I loved the most in this drama is this ..

It's a gamble to confess your feelings. Either you get it all or lose it all.

Heedo and Yijin took the risk and now, they lost it. What makes this beautifully heartbreaking is the fact that even if they lost it, they once had it.


If it was you, would you dare to confess and take it all in knowing that you'll lose it eventually or you'll just stay as you are, as friends?

This is it for now. I still have a lot on my mind but I can't put it in words. Let me know your answers in this question 💖

Despite what I'm feeling right now, this series is one of the best kdramas I've ever watched. From the plot, the cinematography, the lines, and even the acting are superb!!

April 6, 2022

I'd like to thank @Lucifer01 for the renewal ☺️

14
$ 3.62
$ 3.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.06 from @Lucifer01
+ 4
Sponsors of itsmeCguro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Comments

That's heart breaking.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It really is, Luci 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napapasabay ka talaga sa lungkot kapag malungkot Ang pinapanuod

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Romcom kasi talaga ate ito, nakakalungkot lang ang ending 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

gosh. i remember when i was still very hooked with kdramas. i'd cry a river too even if I know that its just mere fiction..hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Now lang ako nahook ng ganito ate sa kdrama haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was so sad.. would hurt a lot I know

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It really is. It ended so sad and I can't move on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sakit naman ng kdrama na to kaya pala trending sya kahit saan. Well ganun talaga kkasi eh. If its not meant for us, hindi talaga natin mapipilit un.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Trulyyy! Masakit ung ending pero ung umpisa sobrang nakakahook kasi romcom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko pa kasi kdrama season. Pero try ko yan sabihin sa partner ko mas bet non kdrama ate. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Daming nagsishare nito sa fb ee. Kaso ayaw ko talaga panoorin mas lalo pa nong nalaman kong sad ang ending. Ayaw ko na ng sad ending. Huehue dapat happy lang lagi. 🤧🤧

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Romcom talaga 'to kaso ang ending, di ko matanggap haha ung iba naman okay sa ending. Ewan ko ba 🤣 pero swear maganda to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the reason I don't watch romantic genre shows nowadays, haha they hurt a lot and push some buttons of my past. Yup, I will confess, not confessing is another type of hurting regret which I don't want in my life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly!! Regret. That hurts a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so touching. I could relate with the feelings of not having parents around. I oassert through same process but I decided to master it...maybe that's because I'm a guy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

we get used to it. I didn't hold grudges though since my parents were working really hard to provide what I need and want, I do understand them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago