My Grandma Stories Will Remind You Of Your Own Grandma

0 36
Avatar for its_arsl
1 year ago

Grandma Stories From The Early 1900s - A small blog offering grandma-style stories from the early 20th century.

I'm a fan of old-fashioned, grandma stories with a classic feel. When I was young, I would love to hear storytelling after dinner. It wasn't exceptionally unusual activity for many families. Although, in modern times, it is rare for most people to indulge in storytelling after dinner. A large reason for this is the fact that not many people are familiar with grandma's stories from the late 1800s and early 1900s.

1) _ I still remember the time she taught me how to sew.

Grandmas are the best, aren't they? They're the ones who always have a hug for you and a special treat in their pocket. They're the ones who know just what to say when you're feeling down. And they're the ones who can tell you stories that make you laugh and cry all at once.

My grandma was like that, too. She had a knack for storytelling and always knew how to bring out my inner child. She'd tell me stories about her childhood and her grandpa, who died when she was just five years old. She told me about learning how to sew from her mother-in-law — a skill she used often over the years! Some of her stories were funny, some were sweet and some were downright embarrassing, but each one made me remember all the love she had for me and our family as we grew up together.

I still remember the time she taught me how to sew — I think it was middle school — with a sewing kit she bought at Target. I'll never forget how patient she was as I struggled with the fabric and thread, or how proud she looked when I finally finished my first project: an ugly Christmas tree pin cushion that looks nothing like any other piece of art in our

2) _ She told me how she used to make her soap from lye and animal fat.

My grandma was a very smart strong and independent woman. She was born in the 1920s, and she had a remarkable life story.

She told me how she used to make her soap from lye and animal fat. How she would go out into the woods and look for mushrooms to eat. How she would catch fish with her bare hands because she didn't have a fishing rod or net.

She also told me about how she met my grandfather when they were both teenagers, and how they got married when he was only 17 years old! She talked about how they had to walk 30 miles to get married because they didn't have any money for a car ride.

My grandma was so funny too! She loved making jokes and playing around with us kids when we were little boys and girls. For example, she would pretend that our house was haunted by ghosts with long white hair who would come out at night and steal our food from inside our refrigerators (because we left it open).

We'd all run away screaming while she laughed hysterically at us while pretending to be one of those ghosts!

3) _ She took me to the store and showed me how she bartered for goods instead of paying with money.

My grandma is the best. She's always been there for me and has taught me so many things. Here are some of my favorite stories about her:

She took me to the store and showed me how she bartered for goods instead of paying with money. We went in with a bag of tomatoes and walked out with milk, eggs, flour, sugar, and other goodies.

When I was young, my grandma and I would sit on her front porch and talk about anything that came to mind.

My grandpa had a farm where they grew corn, soybeans, wheat, and alfalfa hay. The whole family worked together on it - we'd all pitch in when needed - even my little brother who was just two years old at the time!

She taught me how to can vegetables, make cheese curds (the soft white part of milk), and also how to sew clothes for my dolls using scraps of fabric from her sewing room!

4) _ She made a homemade ice cream churn out of wood, a metal bucket, and an electric motor (before there were home freezers).

Some of my best childhood memories revolve around my grandma's kitchen.

She was the first one to teach me how to cook, and she taught me in the very same place where she learned herself — her mother's kitchen.

She made a homemade ice cream churn out of wood, a metal bucket, and an electric motor (before there were home freezers). She made her granola bars and pickles using nothing more than basic ingredients like honey and vinegar. She even had an old-fashioned oven that baked bread without any electricity.

It was magical to watch her cook because it seemed like she could do anything with those jars of spices lining her shelf. I'd often ask her for recipes but she'd just smile and tell me that there weren't any — everything came from her experience and intuition.

My grandma wasn't just a great cook; she also had amazing baking skills. Her chocolate chip cookies were so good that everyone who tried them would always come back for more!

5) _ She told me stories about being a little girl in school before they had radios or televisions.

My grandma was a very special woman. She was full of life and loved to tell stories. She told me stories about being a little girl in school before they had radios or televisions. She told me how she would play outside with her friends all day long and how they didn't have much money but they always found ways to have fun.

She told me about her first date with my grandpa when she was 16 years old, which was against her parent's wishes. They had to sneak out of the house at night to go dancing because my grandpa had a car that he had bought from his uncle for $200 cash! My mom was born shortly after that date and she said it was love at first sight for both of them.

She told me about sitting on the front porch during World War II as bombs were going off nearby in Europe but never having any real fear because she knew that if anything happened, her whole family would be together forever in heaven no matter what happened on Earth.

My grandma lived a long life but died when I was only 10 years old, so most of my memories are just stories that I've been told by my parents or other family members who were close to her like my aunt and uncle who lived next door.

6) _ My grandma always made time for family prayer time. After we ate dinner together, we would all kneel by our beds and say prayers together.

My grandma was a very special woman. She passed away in April of this year, so I thought it would be fun to share some stories about her that I remember.

When I was little, my grandma would come to see me often. We would go grocery shopping and she would help me pick out clothes, or we would stay home and bake cookies together.

My grandma always made time for family prayer time. After we ate dinner together, we would all kneel by our beds and say prayers together.

The best memory I have of my grandma is when we went on vacation to California when I was five years old. We stayed at the beach for a week, and every night after dinner we would go down to the shoreline and play in the sand until dusk. My grandmother taught me how to make sand angels and build castles with sticks and rocks!

7) _ My grandma's recipes came from another era. It was fun to see how she adapted them for our times.

My grandma's recipes were from another era. It was fun to see how she adapted them for our times, but also how many of them were just as good as they were before.

Homemade chicken noodle soup

When I was sick, my grandma made me homemade chicken noodle soup. It was so delicious and comforting. I don't think I ever got sick again after that first time!

She always made it from scratch with fresh chicken and veggies. She used to tell me that she would make a big batch at the beginning of the week and then freeze it in small containers for later use.

She would also make her noodles from scratch as well, which took about an hour or two. They were fluffy and delicious!

Homemade ice cream sandwiches

My grandma loved making homemade ice cream sandwiches for us when we visited her in the summertime. She would make vanilla ice cream with chocolate wafers between two layers of vanilla cookie dough — basically like a cookie dough sandwich where one side is soft and gooey while the other side is cold and hardens up once frozen!

Takeaway:

We can all learn from our grandma's ways of life - even if we didn't know them personally!

Grandma's stories are a great way to learn from our elders. They can inspire us and help us learn new things.

Grandma's stories are unique because they're personal. They come from the heart and have a special connection with our own experiences.

We can all learn from our grandma's ways of life - even if we didn't know them personally! Here are some of my favorites:

My grandma says that when you're not feeling well, you should drink hot tea with lemon juice in it. She says it's good for your immune system, but I just think it tastes good!

When I was younger, my grandma would always tell me about how she used to catch butterflies with her friends in their backyard. She used to say that they would catch them by confusing them with mirrors or hiding behind flowers until they got too tired to fly anymore! She told me this story one day when we were sitting on the porch swing together, just talking about random things like we always did when I was younger. When she told me this story, I couldn't stop thinking about how silly it seemed for someone to be chasing butterflies around their house just so they could catch them!

Closing thoughts:

Grandma's stories are interesting little tidbits of the past that are easily forgotten, and in many cases have not been written down. This blog intends to fix that problem. Anyone can start a blog and share their grandma's stories with the world, because those stories may be lost forever if no one bothers to preserve them. So please, feel free to comment or contact me with your grandma stories and I will gladly add them to my blog for future generations to enjoy.

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
Avatar for its_arsl
1 year ago

Comments