My dear friend

1 23
Avatar for itafari
2 years ago

Our family moved to Lusaka,Zambia(145 miles away from our old town) about 13 years ago when I was only eleven. It was a scary time for me as I had to start a new school and make new friends. But something kindly happened tome in my new situation. An old man,whom my parents knew before, lived very close to us.I was surprised to find out how interesting he was after being introduced.He was young at heart and dressed with elegance.

The house we lived in had been rented out so we moved to a permanent house about a mile from Uncle Mike’s house. I use the expression "uncle" out of respect and as a term of affection.I was sad when we had to move,for my brother and I started visiting him regularly.

However, the school I attended was close to Uncle mike's house. So every Friday after school was over and before I went for my dance lessons at school, I could go for a cup of tea at Uncle’s.This became my routine.I could pick up one of my storybooks and he read it to me while I ate cucumber sandwiches and drank a glass of ice milk.

I remember Friday seemed to drag on as I looked forward to 3:30 p.m. bell, which was a signal to fly to Uncle Mike's house. It was around this time that I learned how interesting and fun old people can be. In fact, I haven't seen him so old. In my mind, he was too young. He knew how to drive and had a fragrant house and a garden, what more does a child want?

Three years passed and I was in the last year of primary school. It was then that Uncle Mike decided that his garden was becoming too much for him and that an apartment was a more realistic option. At the time,I couldn't understand the concept of aging.I was upset that his apartment was in another part of town. Fridays have never had the same charm for me as before.

My transition to high school was approaching. What would I do in such a big school? How could I manage? I was to go to a different school than my friends' because our family lived in a different area. But again, Uncle Mike was there because the apartment he moved into was right next to my high school! I asked him if I could come to his house at lunchtime to eat my sandwiches. Then another great routine was established.

I think it was then that our relationship changed from a child-adult relationship to a mutual enjoyment of each other's company. It was obvious in many ways, but one in particular was when we started reading the classics together - Jane Eyre, Villette, Pride and Prejudice, and The Woman in White - instead of my storybooks. My taste had matured.

Uncle Mike taught me that loving people is a skill and an art. Without him, I might not have noticed until I was much older.He taught me to listen, and a lot of people in this fast-paced world never learn that, young or old. As I curl up on the sofa,he tells me stories about his life and his experiences. I was delighted with the irresistible knowledge this man possessed.

Uncle Mike gave up many things - marriage, children, career - to care for his parents and aunt during a traumatic illness.

Over the past two years, Uncle Mike's health had deteriorated and I could see the frustration, hardship and pain that old age brings. Recently, at 80, he had to stop driving, which was very difficult for him.He was used to a very active life and now being tied to his home is very frustrating. He had to fight against the feeling of bothering people. No matter how many times we tell him that we love him and that we would do anything for him,he still feels guilty.

What makes him worse now is that it is difficult for him to wash and dress. Even though he have done it for other people, it is a hardship to realize that you need this help. It teaches me that even when people can't do it all on their own, they still deserve our respect.

But most of all, this experience helped me understand what it means to grow old. Everything Uncle Mike can no longer do makes me cry. Especially when I see him frustrated or in pain, I feel like crying and crying. What I regret most is that all of his wisdom is will not be appreciated by another child younger than me.

I'm honored to have such a friend. He taught me many beautiful qualities, especially love. I wouldn't change this friendship with a hundred friends my age.I will never stop loving, visiting and helping my dear friend. He taught me that life can be joyous and fulfilling if you think of others before you.

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Lucifer01
Avatar for itafari
2 years ago

Comments

I appreciate your story & I might mention uncle mike. He sacrificed much. My new Zambian friend, you told us about your story & we feel it. Thanks for sharing. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago