I lost my confidence to dance

37 62
Avatar for issquo
Written by
3 years ago

Hey guys! It's story time. This is kinda long but i'll hope you'll read til the end. Enjoy!

Eversince I was a little girl, I really loved to dance. We have a DVD player at home, and I always turned that on. Play some upbeat music. I'll lock the door of my room then try to create some dance moves. The feeling was unexplainable when I get to choroegraph a dance of a song alone.

There are times when my danceable spirit will comeout of nowhere and my body just wanna move and groove, and I dance on the bed. Do some stunts and bendings. It was so much fun to imagine I'm in a stage dancing my heart out, where in real life it was just a bed. lol. haha.

I always join in class intermission numbers at school whenever an event is coming. My teachers as well as classmates noticed my dancing skills. I always get compliments from people who watched me danced. I even became a dance leader of our class. I prepared and choreograph a whole dance for an intermission number in the recognition rites when I was in elementary school.

That's the thing that I'm really proud of myself during my childhood. Dancing was my passion before.

But everything changed when I entered high school.

No one notices the thing where I'm good at.

There's this time when our class must select dancers that will represent our class. All I thought was, I will be chosen as one of the dancers that will represent our class in a grade level competition. But nah, I wasn't able to dance because I'm not chosen and no one sees the potential of me dancing, that my skills are only for classroom and just enough to satisfy the teacher who will grade the way I dance.

I feel bad on writing this, cause it feels like i'm ranting. Haha. But yeah, that's the time when I started to think that maybe they're right, I'm not really a good dancer, well no one approached me then said im not a good one. I just feel it from their decisions on not choosing me. And I thought that it's because I don't have looks. I'm not pretty. I don't have clear and flawless skin. And I'm not a close friend of the class leader. I accept the fact that there are really good dancers in our class better than me.

From that moment, I started questioning myself, 'why i'm still pushing myself to dance?', 'why i'm still hoping that someone will notice that I can do what others can do?' , 'why not just accept the truth that im not a dancer?' πŸ’”

I still dance when needed at school, or when I missed dancing. I dance at home, where no one can see me, no one knows that I dance, no one will underestimate my skill and I will just enjoy being me.

From then on, I lost my interest in dancing, lost my confidence, lost self-esteem and started to be ashamed of myself, and that's when I also started to slowly become an introvert.

It's still me a girl who loved to dance that no one appreciates except myself. Maybe I'm just too confident that I really dance well, but in fact I'm really not.

Thanks for reading! This article supposed to be a little longer than this but I decided to remove those parts that has so much info about my high school, because I wanna still hide my indentity here.

Feel free to comment down your insights about this, I will really appreciate it. πŸ’–

Sponsors of issquo
empty
empty
empty

49
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @online.surfer
Avatar for issquo
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I really don't know what to say after reading this from you. I remember that event you talked about where our class should pick a very little amount of people to dance for the competition. And I also remember our class leader having a hard time picking those and is under pressure. We didn't mean to have that effect on anyone. I am truly sorry that made you lose your confidence in dancing. I really do, as I am part of it somehow. I don't know who you are yet, but this is one thing that I know.

You are good at it and you are beautiful (I don't have a classmate who isn't πŸ˜…). I'm not saying this just to make you feel better ha. Tho I really wanna hug you right now. I also want to make things clear but that happened already, I can't change it nor tell you what to feel during that time. Just please, please don't be demotivated huhu. Keep doing what you love and don't mind us here. Don't mind anyone haha, as long as you know you don't hurt other people with what you do. Ily ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Never Loose Your Hopes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the motivation dear! And thanks for the upvote as well. I'm really happy, because this past days im not earning any points. πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep hard work

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will. Thank you πŸ˜‰πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey, come on! Don't lose hope. Maybe they didn't saw you dance before that's why they didn't chose you. Show them your talent and spirit! If they look down on you, then practice and come back with your head up high and show them how good at dancing you are.πŸ’–

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@mnymosyne uwu. Thank you so much! This is such a great motivation! Thank you πŸ’–πŸ˜˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome😊 Just keep on moving forward!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. Sure. I will. Thank you πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcomeπŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ’–πŸ’–

$ 0.00
3 years ago

its not wrong to be believe in yourself but not too confident because the your not the one who judge your performance..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Im not being that over confident. Its just nobody sees me and trust that i can do better. Anyways, thanks for reading! Looking forward to your articles πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

maybe they notice you but theres someone who better than you,but dont worry its not end its the beginning that you need to more and more practice to be better than them ..go go go dont stop practice makes perfect..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. I just need to improve my skills more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thats a good decision ,dont be sad,just go on..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Never give up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the motivation πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome. Subscribe me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure! Subscribe back please πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Done

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Thanks! We can be friends and support each other. I will love that!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your tropic is new information to me I am grateful to your article thanks dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Thanks for reading πŸ˜‰ looking forward to your articles πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks and always support to me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ofcourse, I will!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I must say this. In this world, there are always better than us. Like for example, in your elementary you were the best dancer, but in high school, someone dances better. That is my realization because I experienced that too. During my elementary days, I was the best in dancing. I receive compliments. I was a majorette back then. I always choreograph dance steps, until high school. In high school, I was known for dancing, but when I am already in college, I lost my interest. Because I saw and met better dancers, and they dance so well. It's not that I lost my confidence, I still know I can dance, but it's just that I don't prioritize it lately. Cheer up! πŸ™ƒ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for sharing experience. πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯yeah you're right! But in my class it's not just me who realized that. I know my classmates and i've seen them dance. The other good dancers didnt had a chance to get notice too. Maybe that's really the society. They look on looks. Thanks for sharing charmingcherryπŸ’–

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. Do not lose hope and stay confident. You are better in someone else's eyes. Maybe some of them knows how good you are in dancing. Just do the things that makes you more alive and happy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the advice. I'll keep that in mind πŸ˜‰ charmingcherry look like someone copied your comment and commented it here. Take a scroll up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome. I have seen the comment. It annoyed me, lol.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago