Common Scenarios That You Can See at a Public Market

9 23
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago

I can say that I grew up having the scenery of the public market daily. Our store is located near it so it's just normal for me to be there all the time.

Before lockdown, it was always me who was tasked to buy things from the market. And since it's just near our store, I usually prefer walking. And me, being quite observant is enjoying that walk since it buys me more time to just look at the surroundings and get immersed by it.

A public market is noisy, yes. But for some reason, it is giving me a different kind of feels which I always tend to enjoy.

Due to the pandemic, I haven't been into the market for more than a year already and just earlier, I was able to go there and I can say that a lot has change. Let me now share to you my observations about what usually happens at the market.


A. Busy and Crowded

Photo from Pinterest

When we say market, it always comes with the crowd. At least, from what I know its like that. Sometimes, its also chaotic. You'll hear different voices, different conversations of negotiation, you can even hear gossips.

That's the scenario that I always come to encounter back then. But earlier seems to be different. The market seems to be lifeless. There's not a lot of buyers and vendors seems to be not happy about it. The full-packed place fro, before is so different from now. Even some of the stalls are not open.

B. People minding their own business

As I roam around the market, I see people not minding others. You'll see many customers just passing by. You'll see some vendors who are busy entertaining their customers, busy arranging their products, some are busy trying to get a customer, and others who seems to only care about their mobile phones.

They seems so immersed with their own things that they don't even mind at their surroundings.

C. TODA - Tricycle Operators and Driver's Association everywhere

I don't know if it's the same as others buy tricycle drivers are everywhere here at us. You just walk a little and there they are just waiting for passengers so that they can make a living and provide for their families.

Actually, I have already mentioned tricycle drivers on my article about courtesy from before. People are always ignoring them whenever they'll say "sakay po ba?", "sasakay ka miss?", "sakay na miss."

I am not judging the people but how hard it is to politely decline them right? A simple shrug, nob, or smile will do. Let's not make them look like they are talking to the air, shall we?

D. Excessive use of plastic

This is what i'm frustrated about the most. We are living in the City where no plastics are allowed but it is just disappointing to still see a lot of it.

Some stores and vendors are following, I can see them using paper bags or those brown bags for packaging their products. But there are still a lot of stores who are using the plastic labo or the plastic bag that doesn't have a handle. Well, that kind of plastic is allowed but only at the wet market, and I just hate it when others are also using it even though they are not really from the wet market.


Closing thoughts...

I just want to end this by saying these things that we can do at the market. Or should I say, these are the things that I am doing myself in there.

Market is known for being crowded and due to the pandemic, the number of people going there lessened and for me, it is nice and saddening at the same time. It's good to know that people are following health protocols to just stay at home as much as possible but I feel bad for the vendors because they don't sell that much.

People minding their own business is just sad for me. There's a lot to appreciate about around the surroundings but people failed to notice that. Also, them, minding their own business seems like they don't care about the people. I have seen people struggling to carry their things but no one cares. And I just find those people who will suddenly walk in the middle of two people talking so disrespectful.

For the tricycle drivers, actually it's applicable for everyone. Let me again remind you to be courteous and polite at all times. I have seen vendors only care about making sales. After the customer pays, they don't care about them anymore. And there are also rude customers that always wants to be the priority despite knowing that there are people who came first before them. Also, I rarely hear people saying thank you to one another. Vendors don't say thank you to customers, and vice versa.

Lastly, for the plastic. I don't like the vendors who are still producing plastic but I think, as a customer we should also be responsible with this matter. As for me, I always make sure to bring my own eco bag whenever I know that I have a lot of things to buy. And as much as possible, I don't let them pack the things I bought if I can just put it on my eco bag. It helps lessen the usage of plastic, and it can also help those vendors who are using brown bag since brown bag is slightly expensive so I am helping them save some by declining to pack my things.


Actually, there are still lot to talk about. I still have countless of observations but the things that I stated above are those that I think most common so that's it for now.

If you also happen to go to the market, let us always be responsible. Bring your own eco bag and always extend courtesy to people. These are just simple things and there is no reason for us to not do this.

Take care always, folks. Specially if you're going to public places. =)

8
$ 0.82
$ 0.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @charmingcherry08
+ 1
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago

Comments

The courtesy thing. Saying thank you is very simple but touches every heart when we hear it. Nakakagaan kaya ng loob.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay true ate. nasanay na din kasi ako since nagtitinda din naman ako haha. ayon everytime, napakadali lang sabihin kaya why not coconut poknat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same sakin, nag oobserve din ako mahilig akong mag observe. Yong kahit nakatingin ako sa harap sa pheriperal vision ko naka silay ako kay kwash 🙈 ahahaha inayyy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

si crush pala ang inoobserve e hahahaha. ang gala lang talaga ng paningin ko everywhere hahaha minsan tuloy nakikita pati di dapat makita lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahahaha, sino ba yang di dapat makita na iyan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like ours here, active na din ang markets. I can really relate to your sentiments in plastic use.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

grabe nga yung sa plastic. sometimes ayon pati iba na tamad magdala ng plastic struggle is real sa pagbubuhat. sa dami ng hawak halos di na mabuhat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't like market too much because it's noisy but my mother were most likely going to market since she still needs to provide our needs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true naman. di pwedeng di na mamamalengke. diko din naman gusto dati pero ayon inenjoy ko na nga lang pamamalengke hahaha. pero ngayon di na ulit ako ang namamalengke. hala ang gulo ko sana nagets mo sinasabi ko haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago