A Day Without Virtual Connection

4 31
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Thoughts, Personal, Writing, Blog, ...

It has been part of our daily life to use social media. In today’s generation where more and more people are becoming social media users daily, we are becoming more and more social media dependent.

I think, I, personally is dependent on social media. Because first, it is necessary especially in this time of pandemic where classes are being held online. Second, because it’s the trend. Social media keeps us updated on everything that is happening around the world. And third, social media is a bridge where we were able to meet amazing people online. Social media has been our virtual world. Our virtual reality that we can’t live without.

Today, as what it states on the title, I managed to not have any virtual connection or any social media communication. It was such a relaxing day for me and I was so glad that I was able to keep myself off my phone.

Earlier today, I woke up for breakfast. While we were having our breakfast, something great happened and this might be out of context but I just feel the need and I just really want to share it to you.

Courtesy: Unilever

We have our laundry done every Sunday. And just earlier, while we were having breakfast, Ate Cristy, our laundrywoman approached us with a 1000 peso bill in her hand. She is handing it to us after finding it on one of the pocket on one of the shorts that she is washing. It was so nice of her to give us back the money even though no one is watching her. And actually, that’s not the first time that she and our other laundrywoman Ate Zeny give us back our money that we sometimes forget that we have on our pockets.

They were so nice and honest. So let us not lose our faith in humanity just because there are so many negativity in this world because there are still few people that are left who are doing good deeds even when no one is watching. I really admire their integrity.

Going back to my day, after breakfast, we watched our online worship service then after that, doing household chores officially begins.

Courtesy: SimpleGreen

I spend my entire time in the morning cleaning my room. And I feel like I’m so productive after that because my room looks clean again. I also cleaned the whole house then afterwards, I took a bath and we had our lunch.

After lunch, I took care of the dishes and I bathe my nephew. After that, all chores are done so it was supposed to be the time where I get to use my phone and spend time browsing on social media but I chose to rest.

I slept at almost 2pm and then I woke up at nearly 5pm feeling well rested and satiated. I had such a nice sleep and I haven’t sleep like that for a long time now so I’m really feeling well.

We had our afternoon snacks as I woke up this afternoon. My brother bought a box of cassava cake so we ate it together and I had it with coffee.

After that, I get all the clothes outside and put it inside our home. After I took care of the clothes, I joined my sister who is planting just outside our home and she is also changing the landscape of the plants. We had such fun time transferring our plants to a pot, finding a good location where to place it so that it’ll look good.

Sadly, it’s already dark that’s why we weren’t able to finish what we have started. But we’ll continue it tomorrow anyway.

After we decided to stop planting, I cooked rice for dinner and I get to rest again while waiting for it to be cooked. We had our dinner and then it’s time to fold all the clothes. So we fold our clothes together. It might seem boring but it was such a great bonding we have as a family so I really did enjoy a lot.

So after all the tasks in the household, it’s the time where I now get to use my phone or any of my gadgets. I just realized now that I didn’t use my phone all day and it was so relaxing.

I realized that social media and gadgets might be already a part of our daily lives but there is still life outside social media. And I got to enjoy that life today. A life without virtual connection. A life with just me and my people. And it was such a breather for me. A breather from academics, from responsibilities of being a student leader and from the toxic world of social media.

It was indeed a Sunday well spent and I think I might continue to spend most of my Sundays like this. How about you? How was your day? You might want to share it also to the comment section with me. :)

4
$ 3.16
$ 3.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @alliborn
$ 0.01 from @kingofreview
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Thoughts, Personal, Writing, Blog, ...

Comments

I enjoyed your article, all the modern tech we have today is useful, but it can be hard to switch off and engage in something more meaningful. I think it would be a good idea to try the same as you and go for a day without a virtual connection, might be quite a struggle.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hey, a day without virtual connection is really a struggle. But I did enjoy it and I was able to appreciate the world without all these technologies. I hope you'll be able to do the same. Just like what you've said. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buti ka pa nga may ginagawa sa bahay ako puro modules, higa ganon lang. Isang araw nga, nawalan kami ng wifi parang ikakamatay ko na ay. Ang ganda hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahahahhaha pag weekdays ayon same puro aral din. Pag weekends hindi talaga ako gumagawa ng anything na acads related unless necessary, break ko na yun para sa sarili ko from acads. Pag sunday talaga napakarelaxing lang ng araw ko palagi.

$ 0.00
3 years ago