I Turned Twenty-One: I Grown Older

10 33
Avatar for imanagrcltrst
2 years ago

September 25, 2000

Two decades and a year ago, a strong woman who is often called as "Isang" gave birth to a healthy and bouncing baby girl with a nickname of "Mai-mai" or "Jem."

It is the day that she risked her life as one of her foot was buried on the ground. As many said that giving birth is one of the many life and death situations that every women can at be.

Nonetheless, she still continued and strongly kept on pushing and pushing.

Until, a soft cries from a baby girl echoed inside the labor room of a public hospital.

After minutes or maybe an hour/s of laboring and pushing, she finally gave birth to her first born. To her first daughter. To me.

She gave all her time and love to me. Even though she was completely not that knowledgeable on the path that she was right back then. She did her very best to take care of me. To give all of my needs. And so, she fed me of lots and overflowing love, care, and nurture me through good things. She gave me all her attention.

And, look! After more than two decades, she had successfully succeed on her main goals.

To guide me in the right path.

To guide me on being a good person.

To guide me on where I am right now.

To raise me, like this.

Maybe, many of you here already known how family-oriented I am. How determined I am in life. How dedicated I am to achieve all my dreams, for me and our family. And, it's all because of my parents. Especially, my Mama.

Like what I had said in one of my posts yesterday ....

"September 25 is not just my day. But, it's my and Mama's day. πŸ‘©β€πŸ‘§"

September 25, 2021

On this day, the once bouncing baby girl was now a lady. As that baby girl finally turned twenty-one years old.

On the morning of this day, I woke up by quarter to six o'clock. Too early for my usual time of waking up. And, too early for a lady who slept by 2:00AM to wake up. XD

I have this habit of staying at the bed silently for an hour or two, doing random stuffs. But, I can already hear that Mama and Papa was already awake, Well, Mama is an early bird so yeah. My parents seems more excited for my birthday, more excited than me. Haha! And, I know why. The reason?

It's simply because this is the day that they got me, on their arms.

One of the two kids of Mama's youngest sibling was sleeping on their side, ever since the kid was still an infant. In short, she grown up with Mama and Papa sleeping on her both sides. On this morning, I can already hear Mama and Papa telling our two-year old cousin that it's "Ate Bes' birthday."

Short storytelling

This cousin of our's and her big sister who was in the age of three had grown up calling me "Ate Bes" or short for Ate Best.

Mama kept on saying to our cousin to greet me. Guess what? The first woman to welcome me back then is the first woman to always greet me on my birthdays, Yes, always. As in, walang palya.

Papa had to drive someone to the city proper on the same morning, but before he leave he greeted me. His greeting do always made me cry. It's not just a simple saying of happy birthday. He always kiss my head and temple on my birthdays or in every occasions that we're celebrating because of me. Either it be my birthdays, graduations, my achievements. I mean, he do not do that always like on a daily basis. Because, he seems to be so shy to do those things now that we are already big and getting older.

Like what I did to my lil sis' birthday, I didn't told anyone that I have some savings for this day. But, Papa had asked me multiple times if I will go to the market. All that I'm saying was, "I am not sure." While he was out, I and Mama prepared ourselves so that when he got home, we can go to the market after he rest for some minutes.

Around quarter to eleven o'clock, we traveled for less than 20 minutes and after minutes of buying the ingredients in the wet and dry market, tadaaa! We are already inside the nearby store of Goldilocks.

Short storytelling againnn ...

Mama was scolding me for not sharing her ahead of time that I have some savings for my birthday presents. We are so close that it's so hard to keep a secret to her, to close that she'll know right away if I am lying. One look on my nose and she'll know it right away. Hahaha!

She's scolding me for keeping a secret but not for spending $13 for a cake. πŸ™ˆ

But, look! Here she is. Helping me to choose a flavor for my cake.

And, tadaaaa! Here it is now. Safety inside the box. Let's unbox it laterrr. πŸ˜‰πŸ’•

Aside from the greeting and gifts that I am receiving from Him, my parents and younger siblings, relatives, friends, previous and present blockmates, schoolmates, and even from my former ultimate crush (πŸ˜†), I also received another big gift today! What is it? A cash assistance from being one of the scholars of our SK Chairman. Uwieeee! πŸ€—πŸ˜

Me taking a selfie minutes before leaving the house to go to the venue.

After the meeting and payout, I and Papa leaved immediately and help in the preparation when we got home.

An hour had passed by and my friends had arrived. We chitchat for some minutes before proceeding to the main focus of the event, the eating timeeeeee.

For this day, we prepared some foods like:

Pansit. Sopas. Coffee jelly. Pizzas. Cake.

Sorry sa mga fellow Filipino ko na naghihintay ng update about sa pa-Shanghai, wala pong lumpiang Shanghai. 'Di kinaya ng budget. 🀣

The pizza wasn't included in the photo. Na-late po 'sya. XD

And, after unboxing the box? Tadaaa, here it is now. One of my friend even cracked a joke saying, "ay bongga. May pa-cake pa. Bata lang ang peg, egg?" And, I answered her with this, "at least busog ka na naman." Then, we all laugh in the house. Because whenever they'll go in our house, their stomachs are always full. As in, full na full. 🀣

Here's a photo of me when I blown the candle. Actually, I didn't know that sis was taking some photos and look! She got lucky to capture this one. Parang ang ganda ko lang d'yan eh. πŸ˜†

Here's another photo that was captured by my friend's long-time boyfriend who is one of our photographers yesterday. Lol!

Does this photo is enough to somehow show how happy I am on this day? Because I was indeed so happy, really really happy. πŸ’ž

Aroun nine o'clock in the evening of September 25, 2021, Mama said this phrase when we are watching on the television after eating ....

"On this hour, I already gave birth to you. Maybe you are already on the nursery."

Through this words, I felt Mama's happiness by that time. I felt something in my heart, Mama's love. Unending love.

On this day, I turned twenty-one and I grown older.

Having a lot of improvements and was still looking forward for more, on the next days and months. πŸ’—


For more articles, just visit me here in read.cash:

imanagrcltrst:Β https://read.cash/@imanagrcltrst

And, we can also have a chitchat in noise.cash:

imanagrcltrst:Β https://noise.cash/u/imanagrcltrst



LOVE LOTSSS!

Published by September 26, 2021

5
$ 6.25
$ 5.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 1
Sponsors of imanagrcltrst
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for imanagrcltrst
2 years ago

Comments

Happy birthday. Many many happy returns of the day. 21 years it not too much age. This age is preparation time. It is a time to build your career. So focus on it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ono, I am late bataaaaa. But better late than never UwU, diko agad nabasa huehue.

Anyways, HAPPY BIRTHDAY πŸŽŠπŸŽŠπŸŽŠπŸŽŠπŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ”₯. Nadagdagan na naman ang edad mo kamusta height? Charowttt ahahahaha. Basta be happy lang always. Patuloy kang mangarap para sa sarili mo and for your family. For sure malayo mararating mo basta walang sukuan, dapat fights and chill. Don't even think of giving up about your dreams. Just Dream, Believe, Survive! Hahaha basta un na Fightuuuu πŸ’ͺπŸ˜™πŸ˜™πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday Bata πŸ’— Ganda ng ngiti mo.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Thank you, Ateee! :) Magagaling lang sigurong kumuha ng shots mga photographers ko. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happiest Birthday! Simple celebration is enough as long as you're with your whole fam :>

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po, Ateee! <3 Indeed. Basta kasama sila, kahit anong handa or kahit wala, ayos lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday dai.. Penge cake 😁 stay masipag at mabait 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uwiiii. Salamat, Atee! :) Ay sayang, ubos na. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happiest birthday to the both of youπŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰may our Lord God grant all wishes❀️ enjoy your day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po! :) Hoping too that He'll hear me out which I was sure that He is. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago