How difficult is it to study Soil Science through online class?

0 23
Avatar for imafutureagrcltrst
3 years ago

Soil science is just one of the major field of Agriculture. As a student taking an agricultural course, it is required to take this subject as a major one. Even before I start studying BS Agriculture in one of the most known university in Philippines, specifically in Central Luzon, I heard that it is a difficult subject.

As I enter college as a freshman student, I need to take it as one of my three major subjects for my first semestral which is known as SO1100. I already know that it's not an 'easy peassy' subject, but I'm totally wrong! Why? It's a really difficult oneeeee! When I say that it's difficult, I'm not lying!

This major subject is divided into lecture and laboratory classes. Experiments, laboratory and field activities, observations, and applications are into laboratory. It will train and ready us to face the real world of agriculture once that we graduate.

Laboratory activity of testing soil types.

When I'm in my first year of college, we do composting in our laboratory class. It is not as easy as everybody think of. We don't just do pilings, whyyyy? We gather our own materials on our own. From collecting carabao and chicken manures from different places and institutions, requesting for carbonized rice hulls in milling companies in our province, rice stalks from the farms in our province and even outside to conducting pilings, observations, and defense. Aside from the fact that we also need to to learn what and how to properly apply fertilizers so that we can apply it on ourselves and to other people, especially to farmers.

Where we get carabao manures!
Collecting manures! Ps. Im the one who's wearing black shirt.

Yes, SO1100 is indeed difficult. Given the fact that we attend this class in a face-to-face mode. Aside from the fact that we get body aches due to composting!

Finished piling up our compost! It brings us 'sakit sa katawan' but, it was indeed the most memorable activity that we had that made us more closer to each other. ๐Ÿ’›

How about those freshmen agriculture students in this academic year? I'm sure it is more hard for them. But, guess what? SO1105 is more difficult than 1100. I'm aware that it will be still difficult when taken face-to-face, but our situation makes it more difficult. And, it really do saddens me! ๐Ÿ˜”

SO1105 is more on the proper application of what we learn in 1100. Yes, it do really excites me. But, a big but is that we need to learn through online. It will be more easy if we will learn and do laboratory activities in a normal mode which is through face-to-face. In this matter, we can see the procedures actual and use laboratory equipment on our own. But, in an online class? I don't think so. โ˜น๏ธ We can't hold an actual chemical materials, laboratory equipment, and all. Yes, we can do DIYs, but it is not that easy. Especially that ou university had established an 'asynchronous mode of classes' wherein our professors and instructors are not allowed to conduct a virtual meeting with their students to teach them even more and we'll. We, students are worried that we might end up in not learning very well like what we did before the pandemic had strike. Yes, we still learn but not like before that we had our professors to guide us all the way in order for us to learn well.

But, since we need to surpass this life as a college student and amidst of the global pandemic we we're right now? I know that I can do it. No matter how hard and difficult it is, I can do ittttt! ๐Ÿ’š

Ps. I am not bragging, guys! Just wanna share my experiences and thoughts. ๐Ÿงก

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for imafutureagrcltrst
3 years ago

Comments