In a short time, I visited Kolkata for a small amount of money (Part-1)

0 20
Avatar for ilias
Written by
3 years ago

Hey, this is the Kolkata, where Satyajit Ray, Ritvik Ghatkera stepped out! Written on the bus that passed by - Moulali, Entali, Kasba. On the other hand, Ripon Street, Park Street are visible on Google Maps ... Hey, I know these. Nachiketa, Sumon, Anjan, how much I went on a trip with headphones!

“I got it. I got it ”- Yes, it seemed like it was when I got off the bus and set foot at the Dharmatala terminal in Kolkata, for the first time. January 22nd. The minaret of Tipu Sultan Mosque peeking from a distance was glistening in the morning sun.

The ‘old’ has always attracted me more than the urban glamor. Kolkata's own identity also seems to be in this old lept. On the other hand, the city of this life of Bengalis is packed with innumerable varieties - be it culture, or ethnicity. So I planned to explore the old cheapest alleys in just two and a half days and discover the maximum amount of diversity. I decided that the foot and metrorail will be the companion of the whole journey. And Google Map will show the way.

Two friends came out just like him. After entering Panchagarh, I first went to Darjeeling. After traveling around for three days, it was a 15-hour bus ride from Siliguri to Kolkata. He was supposed to arrive in Calcutta one day earlier. On that day, that is, on the 21st, there was a concert of the Fossils band in Dumdum. I really wanted to see. But the 6-hour delay of the Panchagarh-bound train turned our whole schedule upside down.

The shoulder bag weighed about 4 kilograms. Fresh grief of missing the concert. But in the love of setting foot in the favorite city, all those bad things were fading away. I am proceeding by looking at Google map. Destination- Hotel. I was wondering how fast I would leave after taking a bath and leaving my belongings in the room.

When Bangladeshis come to Kolkata, they mainly stay in two places. Marquis Street or Dharmatala New Market area. Since North Kolkata is our main hobby, we chose the New Market area to stay. I could easily go to different places from the Esplanade metro station there, that was also in my head. Anyway, I rented a double-bedded room at the Centerpoint Guesthouse on Mirza Ghalib Street for 900 rupees per night.

It is half past ten in the morning. I left the New Market area and stepped towards the brigade. I had breakfast there. Twenty-thirty rupees fills the stomach quite well. If you have time or if you have a rickshaw / car, you can go to Deckers Lane and have breakfast. Quite a prestigious place.

Pau Bhaji at Rs 35, probably the most popular breakfast in all of India;

I started walking again. On the way, I saw the language martyr's memorial in Indira Udyan. Martyr linguist in mother's lap. The theme is familiar, but the presentation is visually pleasing. In my opinion, this is the most beautiful memorial sculpture built on the language movement of the two Bengalis!

I did not enter the Indian Museum and Birla Planetarium on purpose. Wanted to avoid museum or park space services. Both time and budget were low. The jaw-dropping promise to look for things to see in the eyes of the common man, where there is nothing to see.

But what is so easy to avoid the Victoria Memorial! With the yellow ambassador, tram, rickshaw pulled by the foot, this installation of the British has also become a 'trademark' of Kolkata. Arrive there after walking two and a half kilometers. It would have been possible to use this kind of vehicle, but walking not only saves money, the feeling can also be made a little more to a place.

Victoria's green grass has turned brown in winter, two Indians say Victoria is also turning yellow;

It costs Indians 30 rupees to enter the gallery. And the residents of other SAARC countries need 100 rupees. I cut the ticket and entered somehow.

This magnificent installation of white stone is not entirely European. The Indo-Saracenic trend is accompanied by the Moghlai Michel.

Next to it is another unique architecture of the British period. It doesn't cost money to see it again. St. Paul's Cathedral. Its architecture is Gothic in style. Its construction was completed in 1847.

Inside is a nice collection of all the sculptures, historical pictures. The color of the colored glass of the window looked the best. It is strictly forbidden to take pictures inside. I decided that the next time I came, I would join a violin class or a prayer session.

It's so hard to get the whole of St. Paul's Cathedral in one phone frame;

I got out and got on the local bus from Jawaharlal Nehru Road. The purpose is to save money and gain experience. Destination Howrah Station.

The rent was 15 rupees, who knows if you have to bargain! Their buses are not like Dhaka, either too short or too long. The solid metal body is probably made in India.

Another thing I noticed. Kalema, Ayatul Kursi or 'Mother's Prayer' is pasted on the front of the Dhaka bus. And here is the mini size temple in the place of the engine. Nice decoration with real flowers and plastic garlands around a small idol!

Markets, places of worship and public buses / trains, the best way to feel the vibrancy of these places is to immerse yourself in these places;

I saw Howrah Bridge. Ah! The bridge connecting Kolkata and Howrah also has a good name - Rabindra Bridge. The current bridge was inaugurated two years before the partition.

There was no way to get off the bus. It is also forbidden to take pictures on the bridge. Interestingly, the river under this Howrah Bridge is commonly called Ganga. But the name of the river is actually Hugli! The Ganges is a branch, but not the mainstream.

As soon as I got off the bus at Howrah station, I got lost in its enormity. It is the most platform station in India - 23! I bought a ticket to Bali station for less than 10 rupees from the outside counter. But I didn't know which train, which platform to get on. I asked the police. The answer came, "Seki, you entered without knowing anything!"

I saw the 'you' address again at the port of Benapole, "Which port did you enter?" I knew there was more to 'Tui' here. Even then, responsible people like the police or the customs officer feel guilty when they are addressed in this way!

However, all these hiccups were removed by seeing the meritorious form of Indian Railways. Local train every ten minutes. As soon as he gets up. The rent goes beyond 5/10 in Kalevadra and touches 20. We arrived at Bali station in ten minutes.

Two local friends greeted us on the platform. The Bali Halt station is a short walk from there. Train to Dakshineswar from there. Dakshineswar Kali Mandir and the desire to give an afternoon launch ride over the Ganges.

Dakshineswar is one station from Bali Halt. Again 5 rupees and 5 minutes train journey. As soon as I got down from the station, I saw a sky walk to the temple. The inauguration is not long ago. I entered the main temple area on foot.

The time on the clock is like quarter to three. I ate breakfast at 11 o'clock. After that nothing was eaten. As soon as I landed in the temple area, I entered the food-hotel. I ate chana dal and kachuri for 20 rupees. The taste is not bad at all.

The beauty or scope of this temple cannot be explained without the wide angle or drone shot of the action cam;

Numerous visitors to the temple. The entrance line is about a few hundred yards long. BSF members are searching the body and allowing them to enter. The temple was established in 1855 by the local zamindar Rani Rasmoni. The inside is as nice as the outside. An original Bhavatarini Mother Temple with many small temples.

The room of Sri Ramakrishna Paramahamsa was also seen. But it was best to see the corridor. Although it was a religious institution, there were pictures of Hindu scholars as well as Muslim and Christian proverbs of India and Bengal. There is a huge line here to take prasad by morning!

The launch ghat is a little further from the temple. Belur Math on the other side. 10 or 15 rupees ticket. The golden light of the setting sun in the waters of Hughli was quite visible. I chose this route and destination to get this taste of floating in the river. The Ganges, that is, the Hooghly River, which the people of Calcutta haunted by calling it 'pollution', seemed quite clear, at least from the Buriganga.

The bridge over the chest of Hughli, the Dakshineswara temple peeking out in the left corner;

It seems to have taken less than half an hour. I reached Belur. It is a puzzle to see the color, not a clay palace! I came to know that in architecture, the motifs of the four major religions of Bengal have been adopted. On the other side is the Kali Mandir of Ramakrishna, and on the other side is the monastery established by his disciple Swami Vivekananda. The whole area covered with flowers was giving a different kind of peace to the eyes.

Belur Math;

Sadhu-sebayet-maharajas in white and purple were walking. There is only one university here - Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute. Including this, the university has four campuses all over India.

I rented a Toto from Belur for 10 rupees and went again to Dakshineswar station to catch the Howrah train. If you want to go to Kolkata, you have to go to Howrah first. I bought a ticket for 5 rupees and reached again. I took the launch again without taking the car. Howrah to Babughat. Who would not want a river trip of 10 rupees or less!

The beauty of the bridge is enhanced when the sun goes down;

It was half past six in the evening. The Howrah Bridge and Millennium Park were a sight to behold as the lights flashed from the launch. I walked from Babughat again with the wind. Google Map is working as a tour guide.

Shortly before landing at Babughat;

Leaving New Market as a destination, I was walking looking at the directions of Google Map. Along the way came Eden Gardens, the High Court. When I came a few months later, I could watch the IPL - I was regretting this. In the meantime I got ‘Akashvani Kolkata’. During the liberation war in 1971, my grandfather used to set up a radio antenna and listen to the news of the station. This is his office.

On the way, I licked the petals. Miniature of all-India diversity is Kolkata's street food industry, bahari food, everything is cheap! After walking for about an hour and a half, we finally reached the New Market area.

When I used to go to the Dhaka University area as a child, I used to look at the Kala Bhavan-Curzon Hall-Senate building-Annex Building and think, "Hey, where is Dhaka University among these!" Later it was realized. I thought, New Market may not mean anything special, it is actually a market with the whole area.

It is not wrong to say that the whole area is now called New Market. But there is also a market called 'New Market'.

The funny thing is, I didn't even know the truth from that area for three days. I came to know the truth after coming to Dhaka. I found out that Mr. Hogg's Market on Lindsay Street says that I have seen the red building, that is the New Market! Established in 1954, Dhaka New Market is one of the oldest shopping malls in Dhaka. Meanwhile, the Sahebs also built the Calcutta New Market in 1874. Yet they remain the ‘New Market’.

This is that silly New Market;

My friend's MI band said, I walked about four and a half kilometers all day. And the cost is only 135 rupees per person! That night I thought it was necessary to have a feast. You need calories too, if you don't spend some money with it, you won't be able to travel abroad anymore!

Before coming to Kolkata, I studied a lot about the famous food shops. I knew that Arsalan and Aminia were the two most popular chain restaurants in Kolkata for biryani.

I wanted to go to Park Street or Hatibagan and eat in Arsalan. But since there is no Arsalan in the vicinity of Dharmatala, I decided to have dinner at Aminiya today.

I bought mutton biryani. I don't know whether to cook in Hyderabadi style. The spice is a little different, a little spicy. Fair to eat. Price 180 rupees. Personally, I will put Dhaka Kachchi ahead of it. However, a friend from Kolkata said, the food tastes better in Aminia of Zakaria Street branch! The next day I went to Zakaria Street. The paradise of food.

After a night of petpujo, a little bit of street photography has to be soldered;

However, the next day I could not give much time to the food paradise Zakaria Street. Why?

Because, I was more interested in searching for the 'treasure' hidden in the crowded alleys of Kolkata. It's hard to believe how many layers a city can have.

The traditional North Calcutta-like Sarugali, then the Urdu-speaking colony, then the Chinese colony, then the Jewish area, Zakaria Street, a short distance in front of the Arab-Persian-Sindhi-Moghlai food stalls, a half-hour walk from there to Jorasankor Old Calcutta Presidency College (formerly Hindu College) and Manna Dey's famous coffeehouse - I have eaten so much variety and tradition in just one day! Tao also walks. There was a traditional restaurant or all the delicious food along the way.

Thanks for reading this article for so long.

If you like it Upvote Can give.

1
$ 0.38
$ 0.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for ilias
Written by
3 years ago

Comments