Across the border, Travel to clear water and mountainous countries

2 36
Avatar for ilias
Written by
3 years ago

Every time I went to Bichanakandi in Sylhet, Jaflong, Barikka Tila in Sunamganj, Niladri Lake, Jadukata river, I looked at those hills of Meghalaya with sad eyes. The huge hills of Meghalaya surrounded by greenery. The mind wanted to touch the green trees of the mountain. But it would not have been possible. Because we are stuck in a game called border. I wanted to see what was on the other side of the mountains. The first thing you need to get there is a passport. And so I made the passport.

Passport is the visa I want this time. I applied to the Indian Visa Center and got the visa. The destination is the Indian state of Meghalaya. We all booked a ticket for Sylhet-bound Upban Express on a certain day in November. Our plan was to enter the Indian state of Meghalaya via the Tamabil border crossing in Sylhet. Although the train was at 9:40 pm, we all arrived at Kamalapur station at 9 am due to the excitement of the journey.

When I reached the train platform, I got up in my carriage. There was a quarrel between us for a while sitting by the window. At that time the snake-like Upban Express started running towards Sylhet. Gradually the level of cold was increasing. The next day I was trying to fall asleep because I had to walk all day without rest. However, cold air was coming through the open door of the train and disturbing the sleep.

Suddenly I heard a loud noise and woke up. I woke up and almost came to Sylhet station. Fog all around. Even then the sun did not rise. After a while, I got down at Sylhet station and started shivering. We had no idea that it would be so cold in Sylhet. Trembling, I took everyone fresh. We performed ablution and performed the Fajr prayer. By then some light was shining all around. We walked to the bus stand. We are the first few passengers. I got the fare and got on the minibus.

It takes about a couple of hours to reach Tamabil from Sylhet. The first road is good but the last one is full of potholes. But the nature on both sides is extraordinarily beautiful. On one side of the road is a vast green tea garden and on the other side are rows of green covered hills of Meghalaya.

Tamabil Land Port

By half past eight in the morning we reached Tamabil. I got off the bus and had breakfast. Then I went to the immigration police office. From there I submitted the travel tax paper to Bangladesh Customs, entered my name in the BGB check post and entered India on foot through No Man's Land. The Indian BSF checked his passport and asked him to go to the immigration office.

After finishing all the work of Indian Immigration and Customs, I saw him leaving at 11 o'clock in the morning. I left the office and started walking towards Dauki Bazaar. Because we will take the car from Dauki market. Taxis or jeeps are available for sightseeing. However, since there are 6 of us, we have not decided to take the jeep. But that day we searched a lot but did not find any jeep.

We started our journey with two taxis. Our taxi is moving forward near the hill. Not far away, many people are playing water sports in Jaflong. We are slowly climbing up the hill path. Taxis are plying near the border of Bangladesh. The hills are full of trees. Jaflong was also seen among the trees. Plenty of betel trees have grown in the hills. The forest of betel trees will not be less!

On the way, the driver told us that we had come to Umekram Jharna. If you want, you can take a bath in this fountain. The Umekram fountain is called a naturally occurring swimming pool. Water is falling from the fountain and accumulating in the huge rocky swimming pool. From there it is overflowing again. We call this Umekram spring a magical spring.

Umekram Jharna:
  • The springs are very clear. The movement of the fish can be clearly seen. The water of Umekram fountain is very cold. After spending some time at Umekram waterfall, we got back in the taxi. The taxi ran on Author the hilly road. This time our destination is Barahil Jharna. With the onset of winter, the water in this monster-shaped fountain is a little less, but the beauty is not much. After going through many steps, the water of this spring goes to Bangladesh. Clear water swimming pool under the fountain!

Many people fish there with fishing rods. However, there is an opportunity to go down to Umekram Jharna but not to Barahil Jharna. You have to stand on the bridge a little distance away and enjoy the beauty of this fountain. After spending some time there, we ran again.

Barahil Jharna:
  • I started walking again in the middle of the green on a secluded path. This time our destination is Maolingdong village. The village has earned the title of the cleanest village in South Asia. And even though many tourists come to this village every day, it is difficult to find garbage here. The entrance fee to enter this village is 50 rupees By every taxi.

  • Entering the village was a complete surprise. Everything is arranged like a picture. There is nothing noisy. Quite quiet all around. Small flower garden in front of every house in the village. There is no garbage on the road. We toured the whole village. By that time it was noon and I decided to have lunch at Maolingdong village.

Maolinong Village:
  • There are no men in the hotel. The cook-cashier-waiter are all women. Everyone was chatting together. Served our food after we left. Cooking wasn’t a lot of fun though. After eating, I got in the taxi again.

  • This time the destination is Living Route Bridge. To get to the Living Root or Living Roots Bridge, you have to go up many steps. Tickets at Rs 10 per person. The stairs are quite clear. After a while there is a basket left to throw dirt. The shopkeepers are sitting on both sides of the stairs with various fruits including grapefruit, papaya and banana. The price is also quite low. Seeing all this, I reached the Living Root Bridge.

  • The Living Root Bridge is basically a bridge made of trees intertwined with each other's roots. This is a natural bridge. You can read this article in Roar Bangla to know more about the bridge to the living roots. Clear cool water is flowing under the bridge. I was quite surprised to see the bridge. How the roots of the tree match with the tree is this extraordinary creation. Local people have been using this bridge for years.

Living Root Bridge

After walking around the Living Root Bridge, I climbed the stairs to the top. Dense trees on either side of the house sometimes took the road through the middle of the house twenty minutes ahead of Noahweat View Point. Bangladesh can be seen from here. There are also several waterfalls in the rainy season. A viewing area has been created with bamboo on the trees at the view point.

Homeland and sunset viewing from Noahweight View Point

The feeling of seeing one's own country from another country is completely different. I stood at the view point and watched the sunset. It was getting dark all around. We still have to go back. I have to go far. We all walked back to the taxi. Taxis are plying on the winding mountain road for the purpose of Snowpadeng. Such an arrangement that I will stay there at night.

I will be camping near Umgat river. I didn't know when I fell asleep in the rush of the whole day. I woke up and went to Snowpadeng. As soon as I got off the snowpadeng from the taxi, I heard the murmur of Umgat river. I went to the river bank with my bags. I had already set up the tent with the phone. When we reached the river bank, we saw that the owner of the tent had prepared everything for us. I left my bags in the tent and left for dinner.

Meanwhile, there are millions of stars in the night sky. Pin drop silence all around. Just from a distance came the whistling sound of water hitting the rocks of the Umgat river. The water of the river can be touched by walking three steps from the tent. Very cold! We all lit a fire in front of the tent. I sat down and started telling stories. Gene is not a ghost, life story. The smiles of life are stories of joy. The cold wind is blowing from afar. The fire is giving heat. There is a huge group of mountains standing in front in black.

Our tents and suspension bridges on the banks of the Umgat River.

I woke up a little late the next day. After waking up and having breakfast, we all went to the boat counter. After life jacket, I took two boats and ran towards the source of Umgat river. Huge rocky steep hills on both sides. And mountains mean dense forest.

Umagata flowing in the middle of the mountain

The river flows through the middle of the hills on both sides. Cool currents are flowing along all the huge rocks. Giving perfection to this river. Many call the Umgat River a living aquarium. Because the water of this river is so clear that even the fish under the water can be seen clearly. After a long boat ride I went to the suspension bridge. This bridge, which is quite long for two people to walk on, is made of iron sheet. It was quite shaky while walking. This multiplies the joy and excitement.

Hanging Bridge:

The driver left at 12 o'clock as he had fixed the car the night before. We also packed our bags and left on the way to Krangsuri waterfall. This fountain has a good reputation due to its clear water. It takes about an hour to reach Kransuri. And in this hour-long journey, sometimes the jeep has run on the winding mountain roads and sometimes through the huge gray land.

To get to Kransuri Falls, you have to get out of the car and walk down for about 15 minutes. But that walking path is also extraordinary. That path surrounded by trees. I went to Kransuri and rented a life jacket. Because it is mandatory to wear a life jacket when going to Krangsuri. Moreover, no one wanted to miss the wonderful combination of shower and swimming pool in the lap of such nature.

Kransuri Falls.

As soon as I went, I jumped into the clear blue water. It took quite a while to adapt to the very cold water. Even though it was cold, he did not want to get up at all. The mind wanted to go to the bosom of this nature. I floated in the water of the whole fountain. I didn't notice any time lapse. The sun rolls around in the afternoon.

I got up from Kransuri, had lunch and left for Dauki. The jeep ran towards the border. Last afternoon I ran a lot and reached Indian Immigration. After completing the work of Indian Immigration and Customs, I crossed the border on foot and left for the country. Here too, after finishing the work of immigration and customs, I ran on the way to Sylhet. We came to Sylhet, ate and got on the bus at half past eleven at night. After fulfilling many wishes, we spent two memorable days and ran towards the capital.

Life is a very short journey And so Let's go on the holiday horizon.

I live happily. Have a nice trip

Thanks for reading this article for so long.

If you like it Upvote Can give.


4
$ 0.73
$ 0.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for ilias
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Wonderful writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. What an attractive place. I like to Travel those place.

$ 0.00
3 years ago