Reasons why I am so excited about Christmas 

0 419
Avatar for iambella
3 years ago

As they may say, Christmas is the most wonderful time of the year, and I do believe that. Since I was still a kid, I remembered being so excited as soon as September came. I love hearing music that tells about Christmas. I love to see Christmas trees, as well as being able to decorate it. I love to make greeting cards. I love to sing a christmas carol, and let people smile because we are these little kids, singing happily our hearts out. To let you understand more, I listed all my reasons why I am so excited about Christmas. 

This is how my family celebrate Christmas 

1. Variety of foods to try

During holidays, my mom would really put time and effort into cooking the dishes that we would like to try. Months before this most-awaited season, she would really put herself busy to do financial management just to save and make sure that we will have something for Christmas. This is not like we always have the luxury of foods. We do not eat in a fancy restaurant during this holiday. We never did. We would settle for the simple but delicious foods we always crave. As long as it is my mom's dish, no other kind of food would let me appreciate Christmas even better. 

2. Gifts 

We would always do the so-called monito-monita. And it is really amazing to see things personally prepared by one of my family members. We will wrap anything we think the other person would like. We would laugh and hug each other because we are able to share parts of our savings to give something for our loved ones. But when we are younger, my parents were the ones to shoulder all the gifts to give. There are times when we will just wake up and see gifts beneath our Christmas tree. My father would tell us that it is from Santa Claus, and so, since then, I have this thought that Santa Claus does exist, not in the way we thought he was. Santa Claus might just really be there with us, for us. 

3. Songs 

We know how Filipino families love to sing. And my family is one of those. I always love how we would sing out loud and jam and laugh. Though, we are not blessed with heavenly voices, we just really like to hold a mic then sing. We will sing our favorite songs. Songs that would remind us about something special. Songs that will be shared for as long as we all live. Sadly, karaoke is banned, and we could not sing like usual.  I mean, we could still sing but not with a mic. But I believe soon, we will all be able to go back to normal. 

4. Get together 

One of the main reasons why I look after celebrating Christmas is because of get-togethers such as family reunions. It is the only time of the year wherein everyone is present. Everyone will really make time to attend and to be part of family discussions and catch up. It is really wonderful to see my cousins yearly. We would talk about how we were, how school is going, and about our future plans. We would tell each one about our universities, and would think that if we were able to attend the same school, we might really be happy. Goodbyes are the worst. But as long as we know that the departure will not last long, we will face it bravely. 

But with global pandemic, we cannot do it anymore. Phone calls and video calls are our weapon nowadays to stay connected. 

5. Hope 

I am not sure if you would agree with me. The main feeling I have every Christmas season is the feeling of being hopeful. Hopeful in a lot of aspects. Isn't it nice to have this time of the year wherein everyone, even those with great hate to one another, tend to chill for a while and just be happy? It is also in the Christmas season when people are having forgiveness and reconciliation. I am seeing Christmas as a season to just let negative emotions go, and not be consumed with it. With Christmas, we tend to understand more why we are here, and why we should celebrate it. And this year, with all that is happening, I am still hopeful that one day, we will all be okay. It will be the happiest day ever. 

6. Prayers 

For some it is their family's tradition to complete or at least attend simbang gabi or misa de gallo. And my family also believes that. We will go to church at 3 in the morning to attend mass, for 9 consecutive days. It would start on 16th of December until 24th of December. We will wake up early then go to church. We would fill our home with prayers and thankfulness for still being complete. 

I could say that I am blessed with a family that really strives to make us whole and complete. How I really wish that everyone could feel that kind of happiness, happiness that does not let you feel empty. Though, we may not be able to celebrate like what we did before, let us all be happy that we did survive. The fact that we made it until today is a big reason to be thankful. 

How about you? What can you share about your family's Christmas? I'll be happy to know!

4
$ 2.58
$ 2.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of iambella
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for iambella
3 years ago

Comments