Nahum 1:7

3 20
Avatar for iamHeavenbound
2 years ago

“The Lord is good, a stronghold in the day of trouble; and He knows those who trust in Him.”

Today is one of those many days in which I have witnessed Nahum 1:7. I only have 1500 pesos in my wallet after purchasing some things for the kitchen and a few stocks for my merchandise. However, my daughter tells me this morning that the milk storage is empty and so with some supplies like eggs, fruits, fish and veggies. A kilo of beans, half of a medium sized squash and 2 eggs are the only things in the fridge.  I am to meet a probable buyer today but I am not really sure if she is going to buy any so I thought that I will just settle with what my 1500 pesos could buy.

While I was striding the moist soil of the unpaved foot path from my house going to the main road, I saw my neighbor carrying her laundry. I shouted, “Buti ka pa nakapaglaba ka na…”(“Good for you you’re done with your laundry…”) she laughed and suddenly stopped walking as she remembered something. “Oo pala ate, bukas na due ng Avon mo. Kung may ipapahatid ka na savings mo sa Card Bank, pakisama na rin yung due mo.” (By the way, tomorrow is the due date of your Avon payment so if you will send your savings for Card Bank, then please include the due payment.”)

I imagined my big smile fading away. I am just happy she was not able to see it because I was wearing my face mask. I suddenly remembered that it has been a month since I got the Avon products from her so I had to pay them to avoid overdue penalties. I need to pay her 1000 pesos. Oh no! I only have 1500 with me and I need to buy milk and other things for the kids. What should I do? I had no choice but to say yes to her but deep inside, I actually don’t know if I would be able to pay her indeed.

As I continued walking, I received a message:

You may call it coincidental but I call it answer. What was my question? – What should I do?

When I reached the main road, the store owner called me. “Ate, pasensiya ka na di ko nacompute masyado yung binayaran nyo kahapon. Kulang po yung binayad nyo ng 225.00”. (“I’m sorry but I was not able to compute the items you paid yesterday. You need to pay 225.00 more.”) Whoa! When it rains, it pours. I just smiled and told her that I will give back the 225.00 when I come back.

Inside the jeepney, I clicked on the link in the message I received and it lead me to read the whole passage. I read and re read it. After, I closed my eyes and said, “Lord, so let it be. I will trust you for you are my stronghold in this day of trouble.”

It wasn’t still time to meet my probable client so I went to a government office to inquire about my change status and change name and so with the renewal of my professional license. The kind lady at the fifth floor told me that I need to accomplish some forms and have them be notarized by a lawyer, procure the needed requirements, pay an amount of 875.00 pesos for the rectification and renewal processes. As I have told you, I only have 1,500.00 with me so I just took the form, thanked the lady then went out of the building.

It was about time for my friend/probable client to finish her class (online) and meet me so I sent her a message. She promptly responded and said that she is about to leave the house to meet me.

Out of the government office, I walked past the public market to the office where I am supposed to meet her. While waiting for her, I had mixed thoughts and emotions but I was more at peace than worried. I believed that Nahum 1:7 gave me the assurance and so I just had to trust.

Ever since, I had trust issues. In fact, I never trusted my mom who is a very good swimmer to teach me how to swim so up till now, I can’t swim. Trusting is not easy for me and I really don’t know why. However, I am trying my best to change it because at the end of the day, I won’t have a choice but to. Trusting God should be different. This is what I am always telling myself. Today, I am delighted by the peace I am feeling.

After 30 minutes, she came. My very accommodating and equally abled sponsor analyzed her health and introduced the products. She (my friend) was showing positive signs so I was really happy. However, when the prices were discussed, I noticed the sudden switch of emotion in her face. It was not dismay but more of something that tells me that the prices were okay but she did not have enough money to pay them for now. I really don’t know how to call that expression but that is how I read her face upon learning how much she had to pay if she opts to buy the products.

I remember reciting Nahum 1:7 in my head at that moment. A few minutes later, she said. “I will buy them because I really need them now.” Whoa! What a relief! She bought all three products today.

When she left, I was about to cry. The Lord is indeed very good. He knows our needs and will meet them just like how he feeds the birds and clothe the flowers. On many days, I worry a lot on so many things but I believe that my God will take care of me.

In the end, I was able to buy what I needed, pay the financial obligations I promised to and once again, God has proven Himself to me.

Dear God, forgive me for not fully trusting you. Help me to learn to trust you more because I am indeed nothing without you.  Have your way in me. Have your way in everything I do and even those that I will still decide to do. Be with me; be the magnified in my life and be the captain of my life. Again, thank you and all glory belongs to you!

2
$ 0.39
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of iamHeavenbound
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for iamHeavenbound
2 years ago

Comments

We have the same issue, therea are many times that I doubted to trust Him, and there's something hinders me to do it... Pray for it🙂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agree. we really need to pray harder.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Especially nowadays...we have to draw nearer to Him

$ 0.00
2 years ago