Journey to a New Place: Part 2

0 6
Avatar for honeybhabe02
2 years ago

Authors Note: If you didn't already read the Part 1, here it is: https://read.cash/@honeybhabe02/journey-to-a-new-place-200a465b

I got the extra push to write my next article because someone upvoted my last one. I am so happy because this was the first article that I got one and with a comment too. Thank you so much @deedum.

*******************************

On my last article, I describe my very first May Day experience. Singing and dancing to the tune "Hawaiian Superman".

Fast forward to a part where I was so disappointed because I didn't get to talk to my mama (my auntie that took care of me). Every night, my mom always called her husband which was in the Philippines, when she was done she always gave me the phone and let me call mama. Until one night, when I was so excited to have a call and talk to mama, my mom didn't let me. I don't exactly recall what she said that night but that was the start of not calling my mama anymore. I had to endure every pain, every moment not talking to them on the phone anymore.

Until one day, someone advertised me chikka, an app where you could text someone from Philippines using your computer, a way to talk to my mama via text. I would text them via chikka and they would reply to me there too but that wasn't cheap. It costs 2.50 pesos per text before if you were registered but if you weren't, it costs 15 pesos. So when they don't reply I know they're busy or don't have enough to text back anymore. They didn't have facebook or messenger back then.

Fast forward, next school year came, another year, another school, fresh year to be bullied by the older years. I was glad that I didn't get bullied since I had a sister and cousins in the older years. Everybody knew I was the cousin or sister since I was always with them after school. We rode the bus together and I usually sit with my sister, that is if we didn't get into a fight.

Fast forward again, since there wasn't really anything to talk about on those years lol. Anyways 8th grade came. I was the only one left on that school, my sister is freshmen by that time. I only had my friends or neighbors, they had cousins and older brothers that fetched them so I had to take the bus by myself. It was always a fun ride since my friends and I always had a good time, laughing at something inside the bus or outside. Sometimes, I was just sitting quietly, alone in the seat, I usually don't sit with anybody except for girls lol.

There was a school dance that year that I actually went to. My first ever school dance that I attended. I asked my mom, she hesitated but drove me there anyways, I said I was gonna get a ride home with my friend, my neighbor. She actually let me, I didn't know how to tell her at first and was so scared that she would say no as she always did. That night was fun, I got to dance with my friends, sing and shout and drank with them. We didn't really drank a whole lot since there were still chaperones roaming around.

End of the year came, last week of being in 8th grade, we had to decide where to go for our farewell party or graduation party. We decided to spend it in a boat. It was an open boat, where a live band was playing, there was boose available but only if you had your id. We decided, well I decided not to drink any alcoholic drink that day, I wanted to stay sober and hello, I had motion sickness lol. I didn't want to spoil all the fun vomiting along the way. Anyways, we actually had fun, the boat ride was smooth, didn't vomit thankfully, and we saw dolphins swimming around and doing their thing.

Before graduation, we usually get our yearbooks. We get it early so we can get anybody we like to sign it anywhere in the book. Sign the front, the back, the cover, wherever they want. Mine was fully covered with messages front and back pages, some in between and even in their pictures, they signed it all with love. ❤️ I was so happy with what they wrote, jokes, shared moments, wishes and everything.

Graduation came, we had it in the cafeteria. It was full, we had sections by advisories. We were called one by one and stood up on our seats as we were getting called. We only walked in the aisle to get our extra awards if we had any. This was the time when it was time to leave that all of us cried one way or another, saying goodbyes because we know we might never see each other again. Freshmen year means going to a different school since it was based on wherever you live in.

*******************************

to be continued ...

1
$ 0.01
From 1 contributor
Avatar for honeybhabe02
2 years ago

Comments