The first website to buy bitcoin went online 13 years ago today- You could buy 1,309 BTC for $1.00

0 9
Avatar for hichamsaadi
1 year ago

The website New Liberty Standard was the first website to offer Bitcoin purchases. You were able to buy and sell Bitcoin through Paypal. The person who created the "exchange" basically priced Bitcoin at the average cost to mine Bitcoin.

This got me to thinking about the first time I heard of Bitcoin. I was a freshman in college and a computer science major. It was Fall of 2010. I was in the lab when a Sophomore csci major asked me if I wanted to help him set up the ~35 computers in the lab for mining Bitcoin. His plan was to mine every night after classes ended until 8am when classes began again and 24 hours over the weekend.

Me, thinking it was a waste of time with Bitcoin being like $.06, said no. The guy ended up setting up the computers himself, mining ~2,000 BTC, and in 2013 when the price hit $1,000, sold half his stack to become a millionaire in college.

Where were you the first time you heard of Bitcoin and what was the price per coin?

1
$ 0.00

Comments