What I Need to know to lead a healthy lifestyle

0 9
Avatar for heramiya
1 year ago

Undoubtedly, pursuing a healthy lifestyle is what everybody aims. In fact, this mission is always present if not the no. 1 priority in our in New Year's Resolution. However, in reality this often takes the backseat and most of the time has been shoved down for the promise of ultimately doing and starting it in the morrow. When we are in the midst of distractions and pressure, exercising is almost unbearable to think of much more to prioritize. And when things gets tough and food becomes a reward, binge and unhealthy eating becomes our guilty pleasure we are always willing and ready to commit.

These are just some of the many reasons why majority of us, including myself has been living a lifestyle far from healthy. Being fit and healthy has been more challenging for us than our forefathers because for them it is just the by product of consuming what they can afford and what is just necessary, and their lithe body is the result of toiling and working hard physically. On the other hand, we are the generation of excess and instant. The modern fast paced world we are living today, offered us a lot of instant services and gratification that made us impatient in so many level; the various content and information available in the speed of light offered enough distractions that zap our energy and precious time.

With that in mind, I resolve that for me to be happy and healthy I need to take a conscious effort. I won't wait for things to happen, rather I need to make things happen. Every time I am tempted to take more than I need, I have to pinch and remind myself to take only what is necessary and nourishing, and every time I hear myself complaining of having no or little time to exercise, I have to turn off my internet and grab my sneakers to run.

The picture above is my little triumph in my pursuit of a healthy living. This could look like and ordinary photograph but indeed a picture could paint a thousand words. For me, this a sweet victory of grabbing my running shoes vs. grabbing my cellphone (because it is a lot easier). This is a testament of a well spent morning taking care of my body since I get to walk more than 3 km uphill to get to this place. This is a memento of spending quality time with my friends. And more than that, this picture is a reminder for me that I have the power and capacity to choose what is right and good for my body and soul, and along that journey I could savor little moments of breathtaking view and experiences that feeds the Urge to continue the daily grind.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for heramiya
1 year ago

Comments