I'm 100% dependent on crypto and that scares me

0 9
Avatar for henryramos
2 years ago

I've talked about diversifying my portfolio for a while now. I have a couple of ideas but I'm not quite sure I want to be investing in Nigeria right now. This means that our entire life is dependent on our crypto activities and that is quite scary.

The crypto industry has been very kind to me since I got started in December 2017.

Sponsors of henryramos
empty
empty
empty

I have been largely consistent over the past four years but it has involved a lot of hard work. For the most part, it has felt like the universe had a meeting with the stars and pleaded with them to align for my good.

Despite my numerous successes and my ambition to be active in the crypto industry forever, I also have to think about the worst case scenarios.

Right now, the worst thing that can happen to me is the entire crypto industry dumping to oblivion. Now I know that is highly unlikely, but we're in an industry where people are trading pictures of monkeys for millions of dollars worth of Ethereum.

It's not a case of me being pessimistic but more about my family's sustainability. Preparing for doomsday has to be in my plan.

At the time of writing, my portfolio is 100% crypto and I have no alternative. I don't have a traditional job that pays fiat, and I don't have a personal business.

A business is impossible for now

Establishing a business in Nigeria is pretty much out of the question for now. First of all, we're working towards exiting the country, so no point in starting anything that will eat into our limited funds.

Even if we weren't working our way out of the country, there's just way too much instability right now to even bother. Virtually everything you need to start a business is absent and even the billionaires/1% are whining about the horrible situation.

If I was going to start a business right now, it would almost certainly have something to do with crypto. At the moment, my business outside traditional crypto front-ends is to create content for crypto projects.

While we're here, I'd like to use this opportunity to say that I'm open for business. So if you need a crypto content creator for your project, please hit me up on discord or Twitter. Links are at the bottom of my post.

Adding a skill

Right now, I'm working my way through a course in data science and analysis. At the end of the program, I'll have a skill that I intend to employ in my publications.

On top of that, I'll also have the capacity to work outside the crypto industry. However, it must be said that it is a very competitive field with tons of highly skilled remote workers.

The labour market is generally competitive and so, one has to stand out in some way. Right now, crypto is the only thing that helps me stand out but in my doomsday scenario, the crypto market implodes because people were buying too many monkey pictures, so lets scratch that.

I need an escape....just in case

I'm not going to lie, sometimes I get deep in my thoughts and I start to get a little anxious about the uncertainties.

I ask a lot of what ifs and what nots that I sincerely hope never happens. However, instead of hoping, I might as well do something about it.

I intend to be in the crypto industry for the foreseeable future, regularly investing in projects I believe in and adding value to my life through the process.

At the same time, I have to look beyond crypto and create room for other forms of investments and earnings. I hope it never happens but what will you do if the entire crypto market goes to zero?

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of henryramos
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for henryramos
2 years ago

Comments