Food to Prevent Me from Melting

2 37
Avatar for happycrazycon
2 years ago

Being in a tropical country such as Malaysia near the equator and having no rain for days with daily temperature lingeting between 34C to 35C, it has been crazy scorching hot and we have to find ways to cool ourselves down. Have been sweating so much the last few days even when I do a simple chore or walk down the stairs.

So..... I ordered for myself a Tau Fu Fah (soybean pudding) and some Lemon Aiyu Jelly to refresh myself!

Have you heard of this smooth soybean pudding called Tau fu fah??

If you have not, let me introduce you to this very likable pudding. Beancurd or in chinese, *dou fu hua* is actually a Chinese snack made with soybean and is served as a tender smooth pudding with either brown or white sugar syrup. In Cantonese translation, it is pronounced as Tau Fu Fah. It is one of my favorite tea time food, whether it is served hot or cold. With such hot weather, I really could not opt for a hot serving hence I ordered it cold from one of the 2 favorite soybean shops in my area - The Soybean Factory.

This is a different take from those traditional beancurd pudding as this is even smoother than those sold on the roadside trucks. I chose this that is infused with Pandan flavours and it is named the Luscious Tau Fu Fah.

As you can see, this Tau Fu Fah has some generous added ingredients such as longan, cincau (grass jelly), peace gum and mini taro balls. It is very smooth and was sweet enough even without me adding in some extra brown sugar that was packed separately. Super love the pairing of the longan and peach gum with the silky smooth soybean pudding. I can eat this again and again, love it! The shop, the Soybean Factory actually has a lot more variety of different ingredientd added to their soybean pudding, which makes me feel like trying more! They even have savory soybean pudding which is one of the ways served some regions in China.

---

Another shop that I fell in love with as I order my food deliveries online via Grab is Bean Jr. It has a similar concept and food like that of the Soybean Factory too. Another scorching hot day compelled me to order their Lemon Aiyu Jelly that was super refreshing to me on a muggy day, especially to motivate myself to proceed with my intensive classes with my student this week.

The lemon has such a refreshing touch. I remember having the lemon Ai Yu Jelly the first time at a night market when I was a university student. I really like it as it has a sour tangy sweet taste.

Ai Yu Jelly is ice jelly made from the gel of some seeds of a type of fig found in Taiwan, called the awkeotsang creeping fig. It is also sold online and it can be made at home too.

Image source from Lazada Malaysia

Now I really hope the weather can cool down soon and we can enjoy some cooling breeze. If not, I feel like I am melting soon.

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @littlenewthings
Avatar for happycrazycon
2 years ago

Comments

Wow, these actually looks pretty yummy! But looking at the price, is it because it is part of the delivery service??

$ 0.00
2 years ago

depends on the timing we get it I suppose. Sometimes can get promo like free delivery or some percentages of discount off. I try to seize those opportunities hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago