"Love bond"

8 33
Avatar for hamedbkh
3 years ago

It has been fourteen days now, and I'm still nowhere close to getting over what happened that ominous Saturday. One doomed day was more than enough to end my happiness once and for all. My whole life crumbled down and I can do nothing but hopelessly stare at the damage. Today marks two weeks of absolute loneliness. My only companions are the cruel silence, devouring what's left of my shattered self, and ruthless sadness digging its claws deep in my heart, slicing it over and over again.

Days are alike since my wife suddenly left. She never told me where she is heading, and despite my efforts to find out, I couldn’t know. However, she took with her my soul, leaving only a vessel, this living corpse of mine. The void she created is swallowing me slowly. My mind is playing on repeat every second I spent with her, making the end of my cherished dream even harder to accept. She left, turned her back to me and will never come back. Why can't I accept the bitter truth and get over it?!

The rush of memories is unbearable; my brain is melting away, same as my sanity. Each moment I shared with her is now haunting me; it's like walking in a dim alley, surrounded by monsters pulled out of my worst nightmares. I have never thought a broken promise can break a tough man as I once was. Her unfulfilled oath has deprived sleep of my wrecked body. Nothing to do during the long night other than burying my face in a pillow soaking in tears

It's past midnight once again. The sky is gloomy and the street is as empty as my new life. I can barely gather enough strength to drag my heavy feet after a long shift at work. I've become a workaholic. It is not as if I enjoy what I'm doing, I'm only craving for a distraction, and work was my best option. I don't want to go home; her smell is still filling the place. Besides, I have nothing to do but whining for hours there. Yet I don't really have a choice; where else can I go?

To my surprise, the front door of the house is unlocked. Very unusual... but not strange, considering how messed up my mind is lately. As the light went on, my mouth is dropped open and my eyes are almost out of their sockets. I'm not hallucinating! She is back! She is here, right in front of me, sitting on the couch where we always cuddled and kissed for hours! How can I ever forget?!

But she looks different than the last time I saw her. Although her dark straight hair is as great as ever, she is just gazing into space; her light-blue eyes have lost their shine. Her skin is paler than it used to be, turning even a little greyish. God! Did she crawl all the way up from hell or something?! My body is trembling and I can't control it as a mixed emotion emerges.

For the first time in my life, her sight frightens me. I'm so scared, and I don't know what's more terrifying: starring at my wife's dead body, dug up from her grave and placed on my couch; or the heavy breathing, shaggy figure starring at me in the dimly lit kitchen...

3
$ 1.57
$ 1.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of hamedbkh
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for hamedbkh
3 years ago

Comments

Excellent

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh my- that plot twist was definitely something that theew my previous expectation out the window

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well is that good or bad? X"D You thought it's romance right? well sorry for disappointing you in that case :/

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey nooo! The plot twist was great ;;-;; don't be sad- it was unexpected and was really good so no sad please and i mean it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so touching my friend, I feel emotional reading this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, happy that you like it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I assume the messy mind did know where she went to, did find her after all. 🤔👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He found her, yes, But I doubt that's how he wanted to see her again, not dug up from the grave at least.

$ 0.00
3 years ago