The Evil of Dowry

5 31
Avatar for gullwadia
2 years ago
Topics: Social Evil

Hey, hope you all are doing great

Today I’m a little sad, when I woke up after taking a nap in the afternoon. My dad was on a phone call and he was discussing about the money needed for the furniture and the jewelry basically which we can say is dowry needed for a girl marriage.

I am listening this from my childhood but I never understand what this monster is? How does it affect our society? So being curious I asked my dad what is this dowry system and why is it important? 

My dad told me in past dowry can be defined as the gifts given by bride’s family at the time of marriage to the groom’s family. But presently it isn't simply a gift. Now it is an endlessly demand which is escalating day by day and is becoming a curse to our society.

It is not just the demands but it measures the value of girls in this society which is totally an evil or curse to our values. This is only demanded from the bride’s family which also shows the gender inequality in our society. It is discrimination against unmarried girls, whose values are characterized in light of the costs of their dowries. It is an illustration of greed and selfishness and is a great curse, especially for the parents who belong to the lower middle class. This is the reason why people get depressed and feel cursed at the birth of a daughter. A society, which cannot respect its women, can’t grow. With this fixed mindset many social evils will be followed by our generations as well.

We can’t end it simply by shouting slogans and holding protests. A woman need to become bold. They should have schooling and become financially self-independent, refuse to marry dowry-seekers in addition Men should also attempt to wash off this unholy disgrace. They ought to take a commitment not to request or acknowledge any dowry at their marriage. It is simply by exercising a strong will-power which may eradicate this evil.

Say no to Dowry

 I hope this Dowry system ends as soon as possible.

I personally designed these pictures.

5
$ 0.05
$ 0.03 from @Trofi01
$ 0.02 from @Memi
Avatar for gullwadia
2 years ago
Topics: Social Evil

Comments

It is a great initiative for the eradication of these social evils ,it doesn't only destroy our society but also effects our generation:( totally appreciated 👏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nowadays when PEOPLE are advancing with technologies with an unforeseeable pace, I just wish people move with the same pace in eradicating social evils too, not just dowry, but also, giving women their esteemed value, acknowledging their importance, discrimination, inequality, casteism and various other things need to be past. And, the only way to achieve it faster is if the people are well aware about it and take initiative to give it up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I hope the same. We need to take initiative to get rid of these social evils and to have a better future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well articulated on important issue of our society.keep writing ...I love to read your upcoming content which encourages me ... Say no to dowry...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks for appreciation

$ 0.00
2 years ago