Paling-paling (Cliff) Road | Travel and History

9 183
Avatar for gohenry
3 years ago

A good Friday to everyone. Today I am going to share an interesting experience for what I had this day. I am grateful that I was able to visit the place where I always wish to go not just for its relaxing view but the story behind the place. My motorbike was actually a big help because I reached the place at a very fast speed since I am trying to budget the time because I want to witness the amazing sky formation. My main objective for doing this is to show the big changes and how this made successfully.

photography by me

This place is what we called "Paling-paling". It is a big success when this was done because it gave a big impact on the residents of Dalaguete. This was served as the pathway on how people from Poblacion can access on their way to Mantalongon. It is a big help because there is an interconnectedness from town to town. I could not imagine if this was not opened for sure it will give a hard life to individuals.

photography by me


Way back in History, As you can see the old photo on how dangerous the road was. There was no safety most specifically from the left side if you are about to pass the road from Poblacion. There was no support such as walls or brick in order to avoid falling from the top to the stream below. According to the experienced residents, every time they pass this road they were hoping that there will be no other vehicles they will face on since it's a one-way road only. So they need to give a signal by horning if there are other vehicles coming. I heard too that there were people found hand grenade that was used to bomb the big hard rocks that were still unbothered which was the reason why it took long years to achieve this.

old paling2x | Credit to the owner of this photo

newly developed road | photography by me

In 1890, the 16th Parish Priest in San Guillermo church who was Fray Urbano Alvarez initiated to open a road leading to Mantalongon but it took years for them to built until Governor Cuenco provided prisoners who have minor sentences to help as labor work to achieve their goals. In 1938, it was the said year where a confirmation opens access from Poblacion to Mantalongon.

photography by me


Recently, there are still workers continuously widening the road to give chance especially those big trucks that are used to deliver fresh vegetables to the city. By this opening road, it gave big advantages and here are the following list of how it's improving:


  • An opportunity for residents to be in the field of agriculture businesses.

  • Accessibility of any kind of vehicle.

  • The interconnectedness of the Dalaguetenons from town to town.

  • Way easier and comfortable living.

  • and lastly, this served as a tourist spot with its history. Tourists were able to explore more and discover what makes Dalaguete a place to visit in.


photography by me
photography by me


Thank you guys for reading. I am hoping you can relate in my today's blog especially those people who have an experience like what my province had.


Gear:
Samsung Galaxy Note 9


5
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for gohenry
3 years ago

Comments

Good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice shots. I wonder how is it doing so far? It's rainy season. Isn't it dangerous to pass by that road? There might be some rocks flowing that would endager the people or landslide?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah way back in my high school days, a lot of accidents happened in this area, and most of them, unfortunately, died on the spot, Very dangerous road before but now I believe it is properly developed and safety is always the priority. Currently, bikers and moto clubs always gathered this place for a chill time and enjoy the view.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. That's good to know about the development it has. It's a nice spot to breathe fresh air and chill. But how's the ambiance at night? I believe it's scary 😨

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You got it right! Not a perfect spot at night since no any road lights, but for me its a nice spot for astrophotography session since you can clearly view the stars without any light pollution. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah right. Stargazing would be a perfect activity on that spot. Specially when you're with someone special 🙈♥️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha :) Everything special with special someone!!! Sana oil!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Sana oil talaga 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago