An Unexpected Journey | Hongkong Memories

0 31
Avatar for gohenry
3 years ago

There are unexpected in life which are unacceptable but this kind of terrible experience turns into something worthwhile. My fiancee and I will spend our holidays in the Philippines for one week. We were excited because it's been a long time we haven't seen our families. Everything was packed and can't wait for the day we will leave our home. Suddenly, the night before our flight, we received a message from the airline that our departure time was moved to another day and we have to stay in Hong Kong for one day. I was really upset about the bad news since we have only limited days to have bond with our loved ones and there is no chance for us to rebook because of the week after we need both to go back to our respective work.

shot with Samsung galaxy note 9 | photography by me

The day came for us to check at the airport. One of the representatives from the airline explained to us what made our flight delayed. They give incentives such as free transportation pick and drop, hotel accommodation, and free meals. Since there is no big chance for us to solve the issue then we accepted the offer. Instead of complaining, we should be thankful for the opportunity to explore around Hongkong.

shot with Samsung Galaxy note 9 | photography by me

I felt at ease for knowing that there are 15 of us in total who were affected in the flight. The best thing is that we are all from the Visayas. I was happy to meet a new circle of friends. I'd heard their life stories abroad and how they encourage themselves to work hard to sustain their family's needs.


I roam around the hotel and went directly to the restaurant where we can eat all we can and grab as we can. I was beyond blissful for the delicious foods I ate and there were some that are my first time to taste. My favorite section is on the Grilled station because it's my favorite. I was confused about which one I will eat first since there are many options to choose from.

We were planning to go to Disneyland too but sad to say we changed our minds and take a rest. After a few hours, in the afternoon we decided to explore on its neighboring places. While walking on the street I can see the window shop which is a similar version in our country "lechon manok" commonly known as roasted chicken but I think what I saw are Peking ducks. We bought souvenirs such as T-shirts, magnets, accessories and key chains.

It was crowded on that day since its weekend too. I can really feel the essence of my country because it really looks like no question for that. Another caught my attention is the railway that passed through in between the markets. I thought it doesn't exist anymore but what I witnessed made me believe why Hongkong is a good place to visit too.


At 7: pm we were shocked because the shops were closing early. So we relax near the bridge. Watching the aging adults who were dancing and exercising. We were glad there are our kababayans out there who are chilling too and play Filipino music. Before we went back to the hotel we able to buy foods as well so that we have something to take a bite while chilling in the room.

To end this article I will share some of the lessons learned during this journey and here are the following:

  1. We cannot judge anything unless we experience it.

  2. We meet strangers at an unexpected time and they can be part of our circle of friends.

  3. It's a good feeling to hear a variety of life stories from different people.

  4. I should embrace every chance or opportunity whatever may bring in life.

  5. Everything bad or good happens, there is a purpose why it came.

  6. Learn to see the other positive side rather than upsetting yourself and complaining.

  7. We should appreciate their culture, foods, and etc.

  8. Must be thankful for whatever blessings we have because not all are given a chance to experience this.

Thank you, everyone. I cannot wait to hear your terrible experience too which turned into a worth remembering. Be reminded, You should learn to appreciate.


5
$ 0.33
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Avatar for gohenry
3 years ago

Comments