This is my goodbye

0 37
Avatar for glossyberrycraze
2 years ago

There are people in our life that no matter how much we want them by our side, no matter how much we love them, no matter how much we want them to stay, we have no choice but to let them go. I am Klare, and this is my last letter for you.

Dear J,

I am writing this letter to bid farewell – not only to you, but to our memories. I want to say thank you because I know that you tried, we tried but it’s just that this is not for us. I am not for you, and you are not for me. Unfortunate, but I already came to accept that fact. Thank you for the memories and thank you because you once made me the happiest. I know there’s no point going back, but do you still remember the first time we met? Because I still do, and it still brings smile to my face but this is the last time I will allow myself to smile. This is the last time I will allow myself to remember that – to remember you, even. I’m sorry because this is the last time I will speak of you nor think of you. I’ve fought hard, just so I can find back my place to you but it seemed you no longer spared me any.

I kept holding on even the moment I felt I can no longer hold you, that you are out of my reach. I gave you the benefit of the doubt and I let you give me mixed signals only to learn you aren’t really sure of me in the end. How I wish you told me that in the beginning. Though I appreciate you trying, I realized that you shouldn’t have. How I wish you did not try to save and just let me drown with all my feelings towards you. But thank you because you hurt me so bad I learned that I don’t need anyone to make me happy but me. Thank you because you taught me how to love and treat myself better. Thank you for hurting me so bad I finally realized my worth. That I deserve better and not a half-baked love.

              I don’t know when and how you fell out of love; I just realize that you were gone even before we said goodbye. You painted my skies but you also caused my rain. I now painted my own walls blue and I shall abolish my walls in my own terms and time. I just wish you have informed me first, before you kill all the butterflies.

              This is my last letter for you, this is my goodbye.

 

I stared at nothingness after I put my pen down. I did not cry while writing the letter unlike what I had expected when I thought of doing this. Surprisingly, writing this letter gave me comfort and relief. A feeling that finally, I am able to do this without a glimpse of regret in me. Maybe because I know that this is the best thing I could do, especially for myself. To painfully let you go, but to set myself free.


Disclaimer: Work of fiction, not related to any real people and/or real life events. All based on author's imagination.

Hello there, people of read.cash ^^

It's been a while, I had a busy week because I had to work on our thesis data and with other school activities. I thought of this when I was listening to Astrid S' song "Hurt So Good".

I actually had a hard time thinking of what to write next or what plot to do next but here yah go :)

Until the next article!

-glossyberrycraze

2
$ 1.32
$ 1.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @curiouscat
Sponsors of glossyberrycraze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for glossyberrycraze
2 years ago

Comments