Nurse For A Week

1 34
Avatar for glossyberrycraze
2 years ago

Hello! I just want to share how my week went. It was the last week of January and I became a "nurse" unexpectedly.

My brother got sick last Sunday after he took a bath Saturday night. When morning came, he said he was not feeling well and then he got fever in the afternoon. He was not feeling any pain aside from his headache. He also only got mild colds and cough. We thought he'll eventually get better once he took medicines but we were wrong.

His temperature went really high when evening came so we started to monitor his temperature from time to time and we also consistently wipe his body with cold towels to lower his temperature. We gave him his medicine every four hours so even at 2 o'clock in the morning I was awake just so he could drink his medicines on time. I didn't sleep because I'm afraid I will not be able to wake up at 2am and also didn't set my alarm because I don't want to wake up other people in the house. I also cook for him before he drinks his meds so I could only sleep at around 3am everyday. And then I will wake up again in the morning to serve him his food and medicine and to continue giving him cold half baths to lower his temperature. Aside from taking care of him, I was also the one in-charge for most of the household chores since both my siblings have work. It was my routine for four days straight and I was only able to take some rest last night because he was finally feeling better.

It was exhausting on my part because I too, have colds and cough and up until now I still have them. My brother is gaining his strength back for now so he's not doing any chores and he's not allowed to use his phone for a week until he gets fully recovered.

If I were to describe this week, I can only describe it in one word: exhausting. I can endure the physical pain but not the emotional and mental exhaustion it brings me. I actually planned to continue on my work regarding our thesis paper but I wasn't able to do so because this happened. But it's alright, my brother's health and my health is my utmost priority right now. It's just really demotivating because a week has gone by and I still wasn't able to accomplish anything. But by next week, I'll really try to get back on track so I can brush off this unwelcomed feelings but maybe I'm just really tired and I need to take rest too so I can gain my strength and motivation back.

So yeah, that's how I became a "nurse" for a week. It made me appreciate and admire our frontliners especially at this times because they're sacrificing so much for the sake of many.


Thank you for reaching the end of this article. I really appreciate it.

Until the next one. :)

– glossyberrycraze ♡

3
$ 0.90
$ 0.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ErdoV
$ 0.02 from @keeneek
Sponsors of glossyberrycraze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for glossyberrycraze
2 years ago

Comments

Your brother is lucky to have you! Rest well, too. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago