Learning Korean

2 17
Avatar for glossyberrycraze
3 years ago

Hi!

I have been vocal about my love for the korean culture– mainly korean music and korean dramas. For the past months I've been into other genres of korean music like hip hop and RnB and I found it very meaningful too and enjoyable at the same time just like Kpop.

When it comes to korean dramas, it's always 10/10. I have no words actually for korean series because they are just generally so good. And because of my love for korean wave, my interest got me to learning the Korean alphabet– the hangul.

So I'm gonna share to you what I have learned, and I'm still learning as a matter of fact. These are just the basic ones, the vowels and consonants. This will also serve as my practice so I hope you enjoy and learn something!

Let's get started!

VOWELS

There are 21 vowels in the Korean Alphabet.

ㅏ (a)

ㅓ (eo)

ㅗ (o)

ㅜ (u)

ㅡ (eu)

ㅣ (i)

ㅐ (ae)

ㅔ (e)

ㅑ (ya)

ㅕ (yeo)

ㅛ (yo)

ㅠ (yu)

ㅖ (ye)

ㅒ (yae)

와 (wa)

왜 (wae)

웨 (we)

위 (wi)

의 (ui)

외 (oe)

워 (wo)

CONSONANTS

And there are 14 single consonants.

ㄱ (g/k)

ㄴ (n)

ㄷ (d/t)

ㄹ (r/l)

ㅁ (m)

ㅂ (b/p)

ㅅ (s)

ㅇ (ng)

ㅈ (j)

ㅊ (ch)

ㅋ (k)

ㅌ (t)

ㅍ (p)

ㅎ (h)


So these are how the Hangul, or the korean alphabet is written. As you can see in the romanization or the translation into the English alphabet of the consonants, some letters are repeated and based on my understanding, their usage will be based on the word itself and it's pronounciation. Unlike in English alphabet were words are written letter by letter, in Hangul they are written syllable by syllable.

Let me give an example:

Hangul will be written as : 한 글 and it's romanization will be : han geul.


That's it for my mini tutorial/practice. 😆

Hope you learn something or this may spark your interest in learning Hangul as well. Next time (if I still have time lol), I will share how they are being read or pronounced. There are also double consonants but I'm still learning how to use it so I might share that maybe next time too.

Thank you!

5
$ 0.38
$ 0.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of glossyberrycraze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for glossyberrycraze
3 years ago

Comments

This is pretty interesting. Though Im not that fan of koreans, I do love their tv dramas and some musics. And learning a new language seems fun!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is! Though I don't have much time now because of online class 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago