Can dreams be better than reality?

0 18
Avatar for glossyberrycraze
2 years ago

I believe in the science of dreams, that they are our unconscious mind. That we dream about a certain people because they might be the last person we think about before sleeping, or we have something to do with the person that needs to be addressed. It could be that you have unresolved issue with them, or you have something to tell to them. You could even dream about a friend you’re not in good terms with, because you have that desire deep inside you of coming to terms with them and it’s your body’s way of telling or reminding you that. You can simply dream about a person because they came into your mind, or maybe because you miss them.

I have been dreaming of the same person for about two months now, last month I dreamt of him four times and two times this month. And those dreams got me confused for a moment, because I have some sort of history with this person. It made me question myself why is he suddenly appearing in my dreams. This guy, he is my friend, a close friend to be exact. He knows some parts of me that many people do not know. I have shared them my stories and I have heard about his. We are on that level of friendship, but four summers ago, I fell in love with him. But I’m not here to tell you when, why, and how it ended. It didn’t end well on my part but I still think it was the better thing because we stayed friends until now. And I’m already healed, I have moved on. What I’m going to talk about are my dreams and how they affected me. Those dreams, they were not exactly the same but somehow, they were. The settings and the flow of the stories were different but they all have the same context. In my dreams, he was the one chasing me. He was the one running after my love. In some of them, it seemed like we have a past and he was asking me to take him back, to give us another chance. I even dreamt of him asking me to co-parent a kitten and that turned out to be a confession.

Those dreams are totally absurd, sometimes I can’t believe that I really dreamt of them when I woke up and I remember every details. I said I believe in the science of dreams but for these, I don’t know why because I was pretty damn sure I’m over him and I am not thinking of him romantically anymore for me to dream about him in a romantic context- not once, not twice, but in all of them. It just makes no sense to me, sure I think of him from time to time because we have been planning to meet together with other friends, but for some reason it always gets pushed back. Those dreams affected me in ways I didn’t expect and understand. Maybe because I once had romantic feelings for him that I feel like there is still some lingering feelings left in me after I saw him in those dreams, in those pictures.

I stopped dreaming about him for a few weeks but it’s coming back now and I’m starting to have the same context of dreams I had of him. I said I was happy with how things went, I really was, but for once in my life I could say that dreams are better than the reality. But you know the thing about a dream? No matter how good it was, reality will surely wake you up.


Hi, it's been so long since I last posted an article here. I hope you're all doing fine. I got busy with my online classes and personal life in general. I could say I also lacked inspiration but I will now try to go back and write more articles here, starting with this one.

This is actually a true story and I really experienced this. They say if something seems too good to be true, it probably is. And I think this is one perfect example of that. Those dreams are too good to be real and I perfectly know they will just stay as it is, just dreams.

I hope you liked it, thanks for reading!

2
$ 1.53
$ 1.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Musician
Sponsors of glossyberrycraze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for glossyberrycraze
2 years ago

Comments