Bias Check: ENHYPEN Edition

4 29

Hola! It's my 4th article already and this time it's for ENHYPEN! I got busy with my private life duties so I can't publish it the past few days but here it is now! 🥰

You may also read part 1, 2, 3 of this through my profile here: https://read.cash/@glossyberrycraze

Okay enough for introduction, let's start!

ENHYPEN

ENHYPEN is the only group that I stan that is from the 4th generation of idols because the rest of the groups I have mentioned are from the 3rd gen. They are also the youngest and the latest to debut as they debuted last November 30, 2020. The group is formed from the survival show I-LAND where they were the last members to survive. I have heard of I-LAND when it was still airing but I never really paid attention to it. I also know some ENHYPEN members before I stan them because of my mutuals in social media. But last year, I was scrolling through TikTok and I came across a few videos of them and a video edit of one of their members and he has a really good voice. I became curious of who he was and what is his position so I googled them and that’s when I started watching I-LAND. And from then on, I officially became a member of the fandom.

ENHYPEN is consist of seven members: Jungwon, Heeseung, Jake, Jay, Sunghoon, Sunoo, and Ni-ki. They have six Korean members and one Japanese (Ni-ki). It was actually my first time to watch a survival show for idols because I’m not into it before. Apart from the leader, maknae (youngest) and center, the members don’t have a specific position because they are assigned to any position based on the concept and/or song. The meaning of their name is a mix of an en dash and a hyphen that connects different words to create new meaning; members of ENHYPEN will connect, discover each other, and grow together. ENHYPEN is under HYBE as well and its subsidiary BE:LIFT, which is a joint label by HYBE and CJ E&M.

Bias: Jungwon

Jungwonieee. Yang Jungwon is his complete name and he is the leader of the group. The leader selection was done through tests, voting, and meetings by the staff and members. He is the youngest leader in Kpop and he is actually doing a very good job. I think one of the reasons why he was chosen is because he is mature for his age, I mean yes he is still young and he’s actually playful and cute but his way of thinking and how he sees things is mature for his age. He’s only 18 (17 internationally). On their test for the leader selection, the members were asked who among them would likely to be in a more stable or calm state in a middle of chaos and they answered Jungwon. They also said that he has the strongest mental state or something like that. He said that age does not matter when it comes to being a leader and he doesn’t want to be a leader that feels distant to other members.

Now let’s talk about this, some fans, specifically those who are from older generation (like me, I’m a 1999 liner) feels hesitant or they don’t want to stan young generation groups because it may sound or looks weird but for me it’s okay as long as you don’t have weird thoughts about/for them and you don’t make inappropriate jokes about them. But if you call these kids your boyfriend or anything similar to that, now that’s weird and I think you need to touch some grass and take your time reflecting and contemplating on your thoughts. We are here to stan talent after all. I mean it’s not bad to stan because of their looks and charm because they are indeed all good looking, but a fan should know their limits especially when it comes to idols like them who are still young. And generally speaking, there should still be a line between a fan and the idol because they still have private lives to live that fans need to respect. And also because they are human; they are artists, musicians, dancers, because that’s their dream fulfilled, it’s their passion, it’s their job. It’s not their job or responsibility to always live up to your expectations because they are also bound to make mistakes. What you can do as a fan is to educate them on things they are lacking knowledge about because let’s be honest here, they can’t always be aware of what’s happening around the world because they’re always busy working: practicing, producing songs, appearing here and there.

I liked Jungwon because of his voice (I suggest you listen to their discography). I just find his voice very unique, it’s soothing and calming in a way. And then I decided to fully bias him when I saw how humble he was in I-LAND and how he handles situations, and when he became the leader. He actually ended up ranking first on the final ranking of the show. The best boy Jungwon! 🥰


That's it for ENHYPEN! 🤍

Thanks for reading and making it onto my 4th one. Next would be SEVENTEEN! That would be the last for my Bias Check articles.

Until then!

-glossyberrycraze

3
$ 2.19
$ 2.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
Sponsors of glossyberrycraze
empty
empty
empty

Comments

There are lots of Korean boy groups but I only knew BTS due to their popularity, I'm impressed how you Stan your idols, some people specially Filipino teenage girls calling their bias as their boyfriends and husband sometimes they gonna fight other fans to prove that there idols are the best. I agree with what you've said that it's not their obligation to give attention to all their fans since they suffer from extreme training, no sleep, hunger and failures before they achieve who they are now, it's their success and fans should only Stan and support them.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's very common to the "fangirling world", calling their bias boyfriend or husband. I actually don't see anything wrong about that, as long as it doesn't go overboard and the idol isn't a minor. I do that too sometimes but I know my limitations, I know what my place is and it's far far from the world they're living. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They have a similar face I think,, young talents nowadays are so amazing. they exceed people's expectations. It's time to enhance my talents right now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They don't haha you're just not used to seeing them always. Don't worry, non-kpop fans usually say that when it's their first time seeing a picture of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago