A Year in Pandemic: A Little Life Update

1 23
Avatar for glossyberrycraze
2 years ago

So much has happened since the world got shaken when this pandemic started. This trial has taken a big toll on us, on our health specifically. It has been and still is, a big threat to our health and mankind as millions of people have lost their lives, lost their loved ones. Many front liners have been sacrificing so much to help the public, to help our community. We owe them so much. To all our front liners, thank you. If you are one of them or has a family, friends, relatives who are front liners, let them know they are so much appreciated.

In this article I will be sharing with you how my life as a normal citizen, a student especially, has been since this pandemic started. It was March 14, 2020 when my classes were suspended for supposedly just a week because of Covid-19 and now, July 14, 2021 it has been exactly one year and four months and my life was never the same.

Despite all the negative things the pandemic has caused us, I have also learned so much from this. I have opened an online business last year with two of my friends and I learned how to manage my finances more properly because of that. It was my first time to hold money I can call my own as it was from my own blood, sweat, and tears. It’s very fulfilling and I can never forget the joy of having people support your small business. It has been a year since we opened that online business but sadly, we didn’t pursue it anymore when online schooling started since we are all currently taking up our bachelor’s degree on college, and we have to focus more on that.

It was also during this pandemic when read.cash was introduced to me by my friend and it has been a very big help to me since then. This is where I get all my funds for my internet and I also was able to fund my thesis expenses through the upvotes I got here. Read.cash is really a blessing to me because I really don’t want to depend so much on my family especially during these times, when it comes to my personal needs because they have provided me enough already so I want to make a difference by my own as much as possible, whenever I can. Aside from that, it also became an outlet for me to freely express my thoughts, my feelings; it became a platform for my poems and my stories that have been kept on my phone for years and I am happy I got to share them to all of you. Why didn’t I post them on my social media? It’s simply because I am too shy to do so because they know me; in read.cash, I have the freedom to stay anonymous, which is my choice and that’s where I am most comfortable at.

The most challenging thing for me was the academic part. Yes, I was able to enroll and attend my classes but on the downside of it, I feel incompetent. It got harder on my part to absorb lessons by just listening and watching through a screen. Let’s just say not all homes are conducive for learning and sadly, that includes ours. I feel like I don’t even get half of what I am supposed to learn if it is a face to face based set-up. And I know I am not the only one who feels like this. It’s just really different when you are actually learning inside a classroom, having personal interactions with your classmates and professors. We all miss the feeling of having lunch with friends, and going out with them after a stressful series of exams. I can’t help but question myself sometimes because I don’t really know why I feel so demotivated. The fear of what’s about to come in the future is getting to me because I don’t want to be incompetent when I am already in the real world, in the field of my chosen degree. But despite all this, I know I don’t have a choice but to adapt to these changes no matter how challenging it is.

On the bright side of it, I realized how strong I can be because my mental health was really tested for the past year and months that passed by. I realized the value of connections and disconnections – connections to people you love and who loves you, and disconnection from people and things that are not good for our mental health and overall being. I learned many things during this pandemic and I know there are still more things to learn from. This has been my life for the past 16 months since the “normal” days, it has its pretty fair share of ups and downs but that’s really what life is all about, right?

How about you, how has your life been doing so far, a year in pandemic?


Hello from this side of the world. :)

Thank you for reading!

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of glossyberrycraze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for glossyberrycraze
2 years ago

Comments

Nice

$ 0.00
2 years ago