A front look in behind bars

1 23
Avatar for glossyberrycraze
3 years ago

Some people don't like hospitals. Because of the smell, the atmosphere, and because of those pitiful individuals wanting another shot at life. It's hard for them to see people crying for the souls who were not given another chance of living. Those souls who already crossed the bridge. But people's hate for hospitals may never be compared to that of prisons'. The home for the losts, I may say. The house for losers. In that house, there live different faces, different souls, and different stories. There are people who are afraid to even step a foot in prison. But not me. In years of visiting that particular house, I've seen different faces, witnessed different souls, and read different stories. That house has hundreds of them. But I did not experienced those by listening to each and every one of them. I had come to know some of their stories from someone I know who's close to them. I've only had a sneak peek in their window, but it tells a lot. The prison holds the truest of the truths, but some just never came out to be known and heard by the world outside, when most of them should be. The prison is the house for the losts– people who are lost in their own journey. They took a way that says "no turning back", some of them did unpurposely. The prison is the home for the losers, for some invalid reasons had clouded their judgement and lost to the demons inside of them. I once had a chance to talk to a policewoman while we are waiting for a trial to end. And a skinny, sick and old inmate happens to be one of those who are finally getting their sentence. The policewoman told me that she wishes the grandpa to be finally released so he could get proper treatments. My heart ached for him. And I admired the policewoman for that. As I was sitting outside that court, listening to people talking about different cases, I came to realize that the prison should be called one of the saddest places on Earth, and not just a place for the criminals as many think and say they are. They say the worst about the people behind bars. But the truth is, they are not. Some of them are not. They are just normal people like me, like you, like anyone of us. And what's common about all of us? We are not perfect. As I experience visiting the jail for many years, I've had realizations that some of the people you should admire, are not those who keeps on winning in their life, but some are those who are are locked up on the four corners of cold bars. Not for the mistake they did, but for their bravery to admit that mistake, and actually pay for it. Some may did it late, but it was never too late to change their life. I also once hated the prison, not because of the people inside but because it gave me years of longing for someone I dearly love, it brought me so many tears and caused storms in my family. I once hated the prison, but not anymore. Because it gave them room for them to change, and gave them a chance to have a better life out if it. A chance to become a winner, maybe a bit late, but never, never.

To you, i miss you everyday.

Hello! I wrote this a year ago already, I just edited some parts and I just want to share it here because I still can't come up with ideas for an informative article that I want to write. I don't know if I used the proper terms tho. 😆 I'm open for constructive criticism and I'd love to grow more, so share your thoughts. I'll surely appreciate them. 🤗

Thanks for reading! 💕

4
$ 0.00
Sponsors of glossyberrycraze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for glossyberrycraze
3 years ago

Comments

I am crying😥 people should really look in different directions, people might admire those who are successful but people who branded as losers should be given a chance, not all people who are behind those bars meant to be inside.

$ 0.00
3 years ago