Don't Use Xapo

0 26
Avatar for ggabriel8
3 years ago

I first heard about Xapo back in 2015, when Wences Casares did an interview with Russ Roberts on Econ-Talk. The conversation intrigued me and I opened an account on their app and deposited a few sats. As the years went by, I forgot about Bitcoin and my Xapo account.

When the great BRRR of 2020 began, my interest in markets and currency grew. This eventually lead me back to bitcoin. After hours of scouring my email for lost and forgotten private keys, I remembered my old Xapo account.

I downloaded the app but much to my chagrin I could not remember my PIN.

On May 10, I emailed the Xapo Support requesting a PIN reset. The next day, I received from a message from the support team:

Intrusive KYC aside, I made the video with my ID and sent it back to them. They confirmed my identity and reset my PIN. However, when I tried to login with the new PIN, I got this message:

I alerted the Xapo team to the issue and this was the response:

I patiently waited until June 1st, the day the app update was supposed to be ready. As of today, June 8th, there is still no update. I also tried to login on another device to no avail. Again, I emailed Xapo but their response was the same as the message above.

Frustrated with the situation, I attempted to get the attention of Xapo support by tweeting about the situation yesterday. Apparently, my tweet did not fall on deaf ear. Today I woke up to this lovely email from the Xapo Support Team:

No problem Xapo. However, I still cannot withdraw my funds. Unlock my account and I’ll be out of your hair. Best of luck to you.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for ggabriel8
3 years ago

Comments