The decadence.

20 26
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Venezuela is mired in a series of shortages of all kinds. I don't know which shortage is more disastrous than the other; problems with public telephone networks, problems with the water supply through the urban aqueduct, electrical problems... it comes and goes the whole day as many times as it pleases.

There's also the problem with the supply of gas, not to mention the supply of gasoline.

I don't even know how we are living. At present, the gasoline distribution service at the pumps is not ideal. It's the guarantors, the public servants such as the guard and the police, who are abusing their power in these gas stations. Apart from supplying themselves in the places that belong to them, they also source in all the other places that do not belong to them. Vehicles are withdrawn in queues to supply gasoline to the common citizen and they make them back down to abuse their positions. They take the gasoline that corresponds to 10 or more vehicles in line.

From Unsplash.

Nobody respects these servers anymore anywhere in the country. They are the most despicable, because they carry the permission to attack and subdue people who want to claim their rights.

An example of helplessness is me, trying to write this article since morning. First the internet fails, then the power goes out, after the power came back the internet said "goodbye" for a couple of hours. Don't you think this is something that can make anyone insane? Well no, we get so used to these bad things that it's worse to get impatient waiting for them to be fixed.

 This is my first post today. I think I'll finish before 6pm. A storm is coming and the electricity and internet go out when that starts.

I mean by this that Venezuela is a beautiful country... A beautiful contry that had all of its benefits taken away by the unscrupulous people than live in it.

I don't know what else they'll come up with now. But surely whatever they invent will not make any difference, with all this display of corruption that has been developing for some years, nothing seems to work.

Go out to the streets to protest? It has already been tried. Whenever someone goes out there with that idea there are orders to dissolve the crowds in any possible way. The authorities come out with more firepower and start shooting people.

My patience is already on the brink. I just want my goals here to be completed and then I'll have to do what I never wanted to do. I don't have any other alternative. I have one more responsibility to fulfill and then we will leave this country.

With my heart in my mouth and tears on my cheeks, there are no more ways out.

4
$ 0.19
$ 0.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

Venezuela situation is much worse than we actually know from over the internet in other countries. Sometimes it's really unbelievable how can people live in such scarcity and under 1$ a day in so many cases, with monthly salaries not going up 4$. It's really sad, so we are trying to launch a help program for Venezuela (initially Caracas area) by channeling donations to support the most need. It's a hard work though and can take some time. Stay strong, latam brothers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Currently the minimum wage corresponds to less than one dollar. Pensioners earn the same per month, less than $ 1. We live as we can, looking for other ways to earn money in order to move forward with dignity. We have a lot of strength. Thanks for your support.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Is even worse than i heard of.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And they kept saying Filipinos have it bad. I beg to differ. We never had much problem with gas and power shortages and internet like that. It's just the numbskull leaders but your case is far worse. I also question how you guys are surviving but hopefully soon you guys can move away and find a more peaceful place to live in

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I still have two years left while my son graduates. TO GO to another place where he can work with dignity. Meanwhile to keep waiting. I have no way out.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well maybe when you can move around enough you can resume your gardening business of sorts as a way to wait everything out. Hopefully those 2 years won't be that long a wait

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I, too, hope that this period of time is short. And I hope that soon I can be doing all my normal activities.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You better go after your passports. I asked you before about them. I assume your son has the same rights as you, with thank to your parents?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We are waiting for them to reopen borders to do document renewals again. Now everything is useless.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Which actually means you will be stuck there forever?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the good wishes! Here all our checkpoints are closed, you cannot travel to towns from one city to another. As long as the president does not reopen these alcabalas, appointments cannot be made or allowed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Alright now I understand. We do not have checkpoints. We can travel within the country where we like. The children visit school in the capital city by bus. I can drive where I like. Only offices, bureaus is harder because you need to make an alpointment. This summer I could arrange the health cards and the ID I did in December, a few months earlier as needed but now I am glad I did.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Shops and other centers are just opening. I have to be vigilant to see if they opened the checkpoints. There are many things that I must start now and 20 months go by very quickly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woah, it seems you're in a bit of a fix there. My country is in a really bad shape as well, but we'd never had issues with the Internet,]. That's terrible, it's like disconnecting you from the rest of the world.

In my country, it's security that's the issue. A special unit of the police, the State Anti Robbery Sqaud, has been illegally arresting young people and extorting money from them or most times, killing them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We also have that here. There's everything here. This was such a special country, it has so many resources, so many wonders of nature. But the bad guys got it, they take all the good stuff and do as much bad as they can.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the general issue. Bad leaders.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They take it because no one stops them and they take therefore what they want to enrich themselves. How about you, your son? Can you protect yourself? Do you have a gun?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The State Anti Robbery Squad?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry, it's the Special Anti Robbery squad. Funny enough, they do not arrest robbers. All you hear is extortion (they even carry POS machines so they can automatically debit your cards) and also extrajudicial killings.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you ask me it's time to leave, it was longer ago. I know how it is without water, power, internet. I will never get used to it because I have had better, way better. If your health gives up on you it's high time and hopefully not to late. It sounds to me to all patience and prayers comes an end and there are limits...civil war won't be far. Keep in mind your son can study everywhere.

$ 0.00
3 years ago