Talking about pets.

11 37
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Who doesn't like pets? I think they are great companion animals that are so adorable and by adorable I mean they are so small and so full of delicate characteristics that each one of us is reflected in them.

Greece:

Pets in all times have had significance in the history of the ages. In ancient Greece the dog is seen as an important animal in their civilization. Homer tells that Ulysses had a dog named Argus, this dog has a very sad story in his environment because he loved his owner so much that he waited for him for 20 years and then when he saw his master again he died of happiness and, of course, of old age.

From unsplash.

It’s also told in Homer's story that some dogs defended the city and in honor of them a monument was erected to remember their heroic acts.

Egypt:

Leaving Greece behind we go back to ancient Egypt. For them the dog was also an important pet although they were also admirers of exotic pets. In ancient murals you can see images of dogs although they were of a breed that showed purity. They were also very fond of cats, which became one of the favorite pets of the royal women.

From unsplash.

In many tombs of ancient Egypt you can see in their walls the image of beautiful dogs with ergid positions demonstrating their beauty and the importance for the owner of the dog as the high hierarchs of the Egyptian royalty.

Although they also like cats, monkeys appear as favored on many occasions.

Rome:

Now looking a bit at the culture of ancient Rome there they had dogs as their favorite pets but introduced birds among their best pet allies. Generally their pets were used for homemaking which was one of their major entertainments.

Today:

Some time ago I saw a movie where a dog that came from Tibetan monks and was sent as a gift to a specific person went off course. The dog crate in which it was transported by ship, by plane and so on, did not reach its rightful owner.

The story is about how the dog is found by a man or the dog selects its owner who was starred in this movie by the heartthrob of heartthrobs Richard Gere.

________________________________________

The story of the university professor and the dog he named Hachiko unfolds over the course of the puppy's life and growth. As the dog grows up, he develops an inseparable friendship with his owner. He would accompany him to the train station and there he would stay or go home and return just as his owner was returning home, arriving at the train station.

But one bad day for this faithful dog he says goodbye to his master at the train station and that was the last day he saw him alive. The man dies of a heart attack during class and the dog never saw him again and every day he went to the train station to wait for his owner. He stayed that way for many years until he also died, after 10 long years of waiting for his master. He didn’t want to go to anyone else and the people there took care of him in the street. Finally, they erected a statue in his name for his faithfulness, for waiting for so many years for his owner who never returned.

There are many sad stories about pets that love their owners so much that they went to live in the cemetery next to the last resting place of their beloved owners.

There are even people who treat the beautiful animals they adopt as companions and treat them as their own children. Although experts in cats, dogs and other pets say that we can love animals but we should not humanize them, it seems that the animal then develops pathological characters that they cannot control due to a bad owner-pet relationship.

Another time I saw a documentary about a boy with autism who developed a kind of inseparable friendship with a duck. He wanted no other pet than his duck. He would take it in his stroller, bathe it with him, play in the yard with his duck until he was tired and exhausted.

His mother said that he was a child who did not eat a lot and had some kind of malnutrition. His physical development was compromised by lack of stimulation… Until he met the duckling and then his mood improved to the point that he was eating and growing normally, he learned to have a little more interaction with humans but he preferred his duck.

As I have read psychologists and behavioral therapists say that pets are important in the psychomotor development of children, both those with behavior apparently in appropriate ranges and in children with attention deficit or learning problems in general.

In my house we have a cat and a tortoise. They are our pets, the tortoise has been at home since he was a week or two old and our cat has been with us since his mother cat adopted me one day, she came to my house and wanted to be with me. Then she got pregnant and when she had her babies she brought them home to me… And then she died and her kittens stayed at my house.

From unsplash.

The other cats left or were picked up by people on the street. My copito stayed at home, but he is a free cat. At night he stays outside and in the morning he comes home… Except on days when he's out looking for girls and doesn't come home for five days because he's with his girlfriends. He returns without teeth, without nails, scratched all over his face and body, but he never gets tired of repeating the same story.

Do you like pets? What do you think about them? Can you tell me which one you like the most, which one you have at home?

11
$ 6.90
$ 6.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

I don't have a pet. But there were a lot of dogs and stray cats in our neighborhood that I considered as my pets.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those poor little stray animals are the most loving.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po ..❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am the kind of person that can't survive without having a dog and cat as my companion. I mean, they just make my life more meaningful and joyful 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what these little animals are, beautiful companions in our lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have pet, but I mostly have rabbits as my pet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am fine with rabbits as pets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have watched that movie about Hachiko. And I really cried so hard.
And you should watch a dog's purpose.. I cried while watching that movie as well 😭😭 Dog's indeed mans best friend and we can't disagree with that...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, dogs are very affectionate animals. I had several dogs in various places where I lived. I had to give them to others because I lived in places where I couldn't have them. I cry every time I see it too. Hachiko. The unconditional love of that dog.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have a dog. We've always had a dog. But I've never thought of it as a pet, but we do have an understanding.

I used to take care of fish. But they died. And when I was about 9 or 10, we had the small turtles. They ran away from home.

I'm not overly fond of cats. Strays keep coming and leaving their mess behind, so...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The good thing is to know that all pet animals stimulate our feelings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago