My own money, for the first time.

9 21
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

I was about 15 years old, I was helping to carry sand and cement because we fixed the fence on the wall of our new house. It was a small house but it was ours.

While we were fixing the fence the postman arrived with a letter for me. The letter said that I had been given a scholarship to finish my high school studies. I only had one year left in high school so I got a check for several months overdue and then the checks would come in monthly.

I was very excited. I would have my own money to buy my own clothes, shoes and to help my mother with the household expenses.

But I was a minor so my representative had to go with me to cash the check. So my was there and he saw everything. So he didn't think it was a bad thing this time to accompany me on an errand. He never could, he was always busy driving his transport cart and the money he got from that was always for his own expenses.

We went to the bank and I gave the check to the cashier he looks at my father and gives him the money, I hope that once we get in the car he gives me my money... But he doesn't give it to me! So I ask him, "Why won't you give me my money back?". He answers with, "You aren't doing anything with that money, you don't need anything, you have food and clothes, but I need this money to buy me some things."

I had no right to complain, He would slap me then and at home he would beat me with his belt for saying something contrary to his opinion...

From Unsplash.

I came home very sad, my mother can't do anything. She is always submissive because my father is very aggressive and violent once upset. He would hit me and my mother too. So I just go into my room and start crying.

Other payments came and the same thing happened. He always stole my money with excuses, a wheel for the car, a filter, an accident, all lies of course, that money would go to his vices, alcohol and prostitutes.

I had to come up with something so that it stops happening. I went with my older sister, she was very pretty and ended up impressing the bank teller who did not hesitate to give her the money. Finally! I would have my money, these few remaining months would be mine! There won't be more money for him, Huzzah!

When he asked me about it I replied that no more checks were coming... He believed it.

When those months ended I started to study at another institute that also gave me a scholarship. With that money I did my higher studies and graduated with merits.

The funny thing is that he never knew that I studied with a new scholarship, he always thought that students only needed a house and clothes.

6
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

Good luck and good article keep it up i like it now a days everyone is behind the money for life spended easily. So dear sir too much money have you therefore keep it save an sound best of luck

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We do not have scholarships. If your parents can not afford your study the only options are: you do not study and start working (many starts at the age of 12-14 with bringing the paper, working at farmers, etc later in restaurants, shops if they are old enough) or you take a loan and have a job next to your study. I find it sad your mother didn't go with you. Good, you had a sister although it sounds strange to me they hand over money to a person whose name is not on the check.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They were different times. the name on the check was mine. They just need an older adult to accompany me. And my identification with hers was enough ... plus the mischievous looks from the man on the bench to my sister. My mother at that time never left the house. I did not know the street. My father kept her at home all her life and very submissive. It's everything a man could wish for. Instead of a wife, she was a slave. My mother started dating when I started studying nursing. I took her to many places and then when I got my first car.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh that was so good of you. You got the spirit and never gave up. Just keep on fighting and success is on it's way giving you a path and road in achieving your goals in life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a father. Reminds me of my own father. So this was in relation to your previous article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is right. I didn't want to name him, but this is John Smith.

I didn't think you had a JS in your life too. It's a coincidence?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Perhaps? I just had a bad father who used us to his advantage 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is sad to know that in today's families we can still see such irresponsible parents.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know about irresponsible, more of opportunistic and selfish woild be the better terms

$ 0.00
3 years ago