My mother, my best example.

20 31
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

My mother was a very kind woman. She was a fighter, that's how life had made her. She came to this country carrying her oldest son, in her country things weren’t going well and my father decided to come here first to send money to look for her and my oldest brother.

From unsplash

They came to this great country from Portugal, crossing the seas for more than two months. I don't know how my father knew when and at what time the ship would arrive and I can't imagine the things my mother would go through in order to arrive with a small child. My brother should have been about 3 years old when he got here.

I believe that I inherited from her that spirit of progress on account of enduring difficulties with a persevering spirit.

When my parents arrived in Venezuela they did not have any relatives here. There were Portuguese acquaintances from their country that had arrived first and then they began to work hard to progress at the same time that they thought about having 5 more children in these lands.

My mother was always a woman of the house; she knew how to knit, embroider, sew, cook, and care for her children and husband. That was what she devoted herself to all her life.

I always wanted to have uncles and grandparents. It made me nostalgic when classmates talked about their relatives. I would return home and ask my mother about her parents, my grandparents, and she told me with nostalgia that she never heard from them again.

My mother didn’t go to school. Her parents were from the country and couldn't send her that far from home to study. My mother couldn't even write her name, but what she was lacking in proper education she made up with values ​​and many things that she taught her children. Things that used to be taught at home and now are left to be taught at school.

I wanted to have grandparents, I wanted it with great fervor. I wanted a magic wand to wish them to appear here, so that I could love them and them me. But I met them in the photos that my mother brought as a souvenir. We were a family of five brothers and my parents. My oldest brother was left by dad working in a business of some friends since he was little. He visited him every fortnight, when he wanted to have some more money for his expenses. He would go to that place, take the money and then come home as if nothing had happened.

My brother, when he turned 21, stopped working and came home. It makes me so sad that my father thought of using my brother only to have money and didn’t leave him with us to live as family. I met my oldest brother when I was 10 years old, he came home one afternoon and asked about my mother, when I asked him on “behalf of whom” he just replied: "Tell him that it’s her eldest son."

I stared at him thinking it was a joke and ran to tell my mother that there was a boy outside who claimed to be her oldest son and wanted to see her.

When I saw my mother's face, I knew that he was really my brother. No one talked about him at home, because my dad didn't say anything about him and dad was always the one who said everything at home and we had to be quiet, to listen and obey.

But when we all grew up, each one of us made their own path. Not without first having so many problems and arguments with our father, that thought he could have us like mom, submissive and obedient. But he couldn't handle that many children, not after they grew up. We all studied, that's what my mother wanted. We all went to college, and each one of us issued their own condition that Dad had to accept even against his will.

My mother died when I finished my degree in medical school. She was suffering from lung cancer that killed her after a year. Being in my undergraduate internships I learned of his illness and although she received treatment, nothing could be done.

She felt very bad and was in bed waiting for me to arrive. I went alone to receive my degree in the lecture hall and then returned home to be with her, in her last days. It took two months, two months where I never left her, until her last day.

Then I left the city and began to work in a rural town for a year and returned home, to then go back to work in another rural town.

She was only 65 when she died and she was a strong woman that everyone loved. I still remember her as she was before she grew old because of that disease that took her away.

I took care of her and she felt sorry for me, she said that she was a lot of work for me, that she had five more children, but they all left everything to me because I was the family nurse and doctor. They all stayed home with their own families while I took care of my mother. It didn't weigh me down. I would do it again, because she was the most sacred thing I had in my life.

Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 5.24
$ 5.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bakanica
$ 0.01 from @JthanRios
+ 1
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

Well at least you fulfilled one of her wishes to at least finish a college education. That's one of the greatest honors for a parent who never got the chance to, actually. Even my graduation was something my mother was proud of

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad your mother celebrated your profession too. I hope that now he can enjoy a little of that sacrifice he made for your happiness in life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I still have to repay her bit by bit since I'm not earning enough. I want to at least give her that mini grocery and her own house eventually

$ 0.00
3 years ago

With love everything is achieved. If that is your dream fight for it and you will achieve it. I achieved so many things in my life because of my persistence. Now all I want is to be able to graduate my son and I will be satisfied until my death.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a good wish for your son. I'm still 23 so i have a lot of love and repaying to do for my mom and hopefully soon she'll be able to be peaceful after all the stress i caused her while growing up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No dear, never a child causes stress to disrupt our lives as mothers as you grow up. Those tremendous things are part of our experiences and memories. My son always reminds me of his antics and we laugh together now, after I scold him so much. It is a pleasure for a mother to see our children grow, develop and make their own decisions in life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I sure hope that's the case because she had to go to my school a lot before because my mental health was bad and she had to constantly explain to my professors how i struggle with social interactions in class

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But it is that you went through a lot during your growth. She had to understand that your rebellion was due to the frustrations that the adults put you through. Or maybe I see it that way because of my professional career.

In these times I apologize to my son for how severe my education was towards him. It was always just the two of us and it was hard for both of us. But we got over it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope she understood but i don't think so. The generation gap just doesn't allow it since she never enjoyed the medical side of the world so it's kind of hard to explain to her that I'm diagnosed with a very bad case of anxiety

You were just doing what you could for your son and i hope he does understand your side too. In the assumption that you guys communicate openly

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My son and I are friends. He always talks to me about his doubts and projects. Sometimes she gets upset with me because she says I act more like a mother than a friend. And I try to explain that I cannot separate my protective instinct of being a mother and put it before that of being a friend. But we get along well even in this isolation we are fine.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But you are a mother- and his mother to be exact but i guess he will still get that phase where he doesn't want to tell you things because they're embarrassing if you knew about them

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I imagine that like all people we keep the best for ourselves.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I couldn't help but tear while reading your article ... Very nice what you wrote. I'm very sorry for the loss of your mother. I think your story makes us value the people we have by our side, because we don't know when the day they leave will be. You had a very difficult life, and I admire you for it. You knew how to accompany your mother at the worst moment and I don't weigh you down. I send you a big hug. I was very moved by your story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm so sorry that you felt so sad. Sometimes I write and I do not realize the feeling that I inject. My life was always difficult, perhaps because of the legacy of struggling immigrants such as my parents, but I have always lived it the best I could. And here I am now writing my experiences for people like you to read.

Thanks for reading and for your meaningful comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A sad story, now who knows, maybe your father forbade her to talk to her family. Since I see that he was very strict, that I respected myself as a great man.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think you're right. I think he was able to find a way for my mother to know about his family. But as simple as that he was not interested in doing it. I believe that everything in life is learning. And everything that happens to us in life allows us to continue growing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nice emotional story. Your mother was a wonderful brave woman. Be sure that she loved you very much and that she knew how much you loved her.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, in her last days she could see how I gave myself totally to her well-being. To the point that she once saw me so exhausted that she told me "My poor daughter who is so tired of being here helping me" To which I told her: "No mom, poor thing you are suffering with so much pain and I just try to relieve it. But I'll have my days to rest. "

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice of you that you wrote such emotional words about your mother and otherfamily members.You loved her eternity as she loved you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. She was very important to keep me in an attitude of perseverance. but everything ends and his body was already deteriorated by that disease.

$ 0.00
3 years ago