My cherry plant.

12 34
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

This week I was able to notice that another of my potted plants was blooming. It was my cherry plant's turn. My organic phosphorus fertilizer is giving good results to encourage flowering.

The fruit of the cherry plant has several common names in my country such as "Cemeruco” or “Cerecita” and “Cereza". It belongs to the Malpighiaceae family.

It’s a shrubby plant that can grow up to two meters high, but I cut the taproot last year along with three other plants. I’m trying to do an experiment to prove that I can have this plant in the pot without growing as much as one meter in height and stimulate it with organic compost and soil with substrate that I can prepare myself.

I’m pleased to note that this plant, four days ago, started to bloom and now it opened its little buds and they turned into these little pink flowers.

The plant does not have too many flowers, which indicates that it is necessary to reinforce the substrate with more nitrogen fertilizer. This compost is one prepared with manure from cattle, sheep or worms.

It’s very bushy so I cut off its shallow branches and only left the strongest branches to grow into a different bush.

I got this cherry plant from a seed that someone gave me. I dried the seed in the sun and then placed it in a pot to germinate. I didn't really notice when it germinated, but I did notice when the plant went from being a seedling to a small plant with more than five leaves.

 This plant bears bright red fruits, shaped like an apple about two centimeters thick and it has nutritional properties due to its contribution in vitamins such as Vitamin C, the vitamin that can supply the body in the amount of 1500 to 3000mgs for every 100 grams of the fruit we eat. It also provides vitamin A, and vitamin B1 and B6, in addition to some minerals such as iron and potassium and phytonutrients such as flavonoids, cyanines, and carotenoids. 

I like to eat them with sweets, they’re soft and citrusy on the palate.

Knowing all these qualities of cherries and now knowing that you can have the plant in a pot and still have its fruits, I hope you can sow it yourself at home.

All the photos are of my property.

8
$ 2.41
$ 2.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Snezana28
$ 0.05 from @bakanica
+ 3
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

I love cherries but it's just so hard to grow then where i am. If you could send a though ;-; i hope there would be cherry jam because i like that too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, there is. In fact, I already made a post with that jam some time ago. Nice to see you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think it was cherry jam but fig? But then cherry preserves would be a nice treat too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I already did the fig and cherry ones. The fig is sweet and the cherry is a citrus sweet, very tasty.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like cherries a lot. I have a tree in the yard. I wish I had a white cherry. Be sure to paint the fruit when it appears.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I want it to stay in my pot and produce lots of fruit. I must go out and buy worm compost so that the leaves have more strength. As soon as the fruits come out I will publish hahaha. Thanks for the upvotes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful. I have flowers and trees on the balcony. Japanese rose and white lilac. I water them with a solution of yeast water and sugar. They are constantly blooming.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can you please give me the recipe? I put a solution of banana shells or bananas. For the phosphorus.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing cherry plant you have dear.I like how cherry blooming. I have two cherries trees in my garden.My family also like eating cherries with cream.We have them from July to August.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My brother and some friends have this beautiful plant planted on the floor, but I have it in a pot and I hope it remains dwarf and fruitful. This is my experiment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow I like to eat cherry but never try to eat the fresh ones. I can eat cherries if we buy black forest cake with cherry toppings.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like them fresh, in juice, in jam, in sweets ... in everything hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago