My cats

6 51
Avatar for gertu13
5 months ago

Some time ago our beloved Copito died. He was suffering from a urinary blockage and the vet although she did a lot could not get the stone out and our beloved 13-year-old kitty was gone.

I can finally write something about him but it still hurts my heart to do so. It seems like only yesterday he was chasing me when I was in my garden. I still have him on the cover photo on my phone and I don't think I'll ever take it off there.

He was my biggest pet peeve, crazy, a womanizer, very affectionate, friendly, and very feisty with cats even bigger in size than him. He was never afraid.

Today I have my Meme left, he is a tabby cat who assimilated many of Copito's habits. When he does them my son and I remember our beloved Kitty.

He is used to being indoors, he only goes out during the day for a while somewhere and then he appears with his tail held high and meowing. That is his habit. He likes to go out in the garden and keep me company. Every gesture is the same as Copito's, she learned it from him. But unlike Copito, Meme is not afraid of water.

Sometimes when it rains we have to make sure he doesn't go out of the house because he comes out and gets all wet. For this same reason he got sick, and he stopped eating little by little. We took him to the vet and he told us that our cat had a viral infection.

She gave him several medicines because he had a very high fever and parasites too. She gave him 5 injected medicines, so I had to inject him twice a day for a week.

He is completely healed and is now back to his normal routine. He wants to go out in the rain but my son won't let him.

I think we are now living in fear of what might happen to our Meme because of the trauma of what happened with Copito. I still have a guilty conscience, I don't know how I didn't realize that my Copito was very sick. He is buried in our garden and my son from time to time tells me that he is going to take him for a walk to talk to him.

I feel him pass between my legs, when I sit down to write on my laptop or when I cook, I think I feel him pass through my legs very softly as only he used to do. It must be my imagination but that's what I perceive.

3
$ 0.62
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
+ 1
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
5 months ago

Comments

Awww. That is so sad. My niece goes into a panic when the cats act like they're sick. Most of the time, the felines are only feeling lethargic. We try to care for them the best way, and since I am mostly in charge of feeding them, I do know their habits and behavior and can tell if something is wrong with them.

Copito has used up his nine lives, and he has served you well.

$ 0.00
5 months ago

Hola Amiga,

Hacía tiempo que no pasaba por aquí, pero hoy quise darle una ojeada a read.cash, un lugar en donde disfruté mucho escribiendo. Al leer tu nota sobre la partida de tu amado Copito, sentí tus palabras. Ellos son más que mascotas, son compañeros en el camino, dándonos una especial manifestación de amor.

Recientemente, mi hija perdió a su amigo Teo, a quien también le devino una infección urinaria. Lloró amargamente su muerte, y hasta quedó endeudada al internar ayudarlo con una clínica veterinarea, pero no lo superó a pesar de ser un gato relativamente joven.

Bueno, así es la vida...

Muchos saludos.

$ 0.00
5 months ago

Hola amigo, es un placer leerte. Somos pocos los que pasamos de vez en cuando por acá. Yo paso una vez por semana y saludo a algunos. Da tristeza ver cómo esta plataforma ha quedado casi vacía. Que recuerdos tan valiosos guardamos. Yo escribo en hive, la mayoría se fué hasta allá. Si, mi Copito ya murió. Es muy triste. Lamento lo que le pasó a la mascota de tu hija. Recibe un abrazo 🤗🤗

$ 0.00
5 months ago

I am sorry to hear about Copito. He became quite an age. Many of our cats died early, mainly from accidents or being beaten to death by people. Urine infections but also bowel trouble are typical for cats. Cats frequently do not drink enough and if it comes to urine infections it's due to the food.

It's the first time I heard of a cat getting sick because of the rain or being soaked.

I hope he'll be fine.

All the best to you. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
5 months ago

Copito died a few months ago. Meme was sneezing repeatedly, sneezing on me and looking for my warmth. After that he stopped eating little by little, I think his defenses went down and a virus took him. The vet said it was a virus and my son and I assumed that after sneezing so much he had gotten a cold from getting wet. He is not afraid of the water and always has to be subdued to keep him out of the water. A hug.

$ 0.00
5 months ago

Sounds like the 'cat sneezing' disease, which is dangerous.

A big hug to you.

$ 0.00
5 months ago