Legends of my country: The legend "El Machera"

12 45
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

I became aware of this legend when I studied at the university in the city of Merida, Merida state, in Venezuela. The protagonist of this legend is called "Luis Enrique Cerrada Molina" a boy who was considered to be the terror of the police forces during his time and was also known as the "Robin Hood" of the neighborhood Santanita.

This thief used to steal from large stores, pharmacies, shopping centers... and then distribute the stolen items among the poor of his neighborhood. I heard people say that during "Carnaval" he would take a shopping cart to his neighborhood, filled with cotton candy and free popcorn for children, and liquor for the adults, all of this acquired with the stolen money.

From Unsplash.

Machera was the oldest of three brothers in a very humble family but he was always characterized by having a very rebellious behavior and among his friends they considered him as "muy macho", hence the name "Machera"

For the police force, this young man was a fearsome thief, since he did not mind shootings with all the policemen who faced him. Every time there were clashes there were many shots fired, injuries and even deaths.

It's said that his revolver had magical powers and is still kept in the police station in the city of Merida.

This boy died at the age of 21 in a great confrontation where he was riddled with more than 180 bullets! It's said that the young Machera, even with so many bullets in his body, cried for having been knocked down.

After his death he became a legend and since then many miracles have been attributed to him. The walls, floors and ceilings of his tomb are full of plaques with the thanks received for his miracles and he's also the favorite of the students of Merida. On many occasions, you can see students sitting very close to their graves before important exams, because of their faith in Machera.

If you visit Merida you can ask where is the "Cemetery of the Centre of Merida City", where you will find the tomb of El Machera.

32
$ 0.33
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

Nice to meet you. If possible I will visit Venezuela. I am from Bangladesh. Are you know Bangladesh?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I should have been living in Venezuela when i was still studying so i could have wished on machera 😂 but oh well. Brave souls will never be forgotten and never should though i question the robin hood act

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I really don't understand why they make him a legend. He was a fugitive from the law. And what happens so that later he becomes a deceased who gives favors to the people?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes but since he gained the favor of the masses then i think that would be enough to get himself idolized either when he still lived or in death. It's the masses who would dictate who will be remembered and forgotten, after all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

and for so many people to follow him it must be true that he fulfills wishes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess so? Have you ever tried wishing on his grave though?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remember I was there looking at his mausoleum but I don't remember if I asked him for wishes. I really don't remember. I always asked God for my wishes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh but it seems like such a waste not to make a wish when you're already there. Maybe you did but it got fulfilled so you forgot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But remember that you have to give them something after the wish is fulfilled. I don't remember going back there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh- then there's equivalent trade too, that makes wishing on it seem scary, whoah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. That's why I don't think I ever asked him for favors or wishes. These deceased scare me ... I'd rather ask God for favors.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol well there are curses, after all and evil vengeful spirits who just make wish granting a facade so that would be a good belief

$ 0.00
3 years ago