Jungle King, the plant.

13 24
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

This is a Giant Anturiu or Jungle King plant.

It is a plant that grows in semi-shade, it does not tolerate direct exposure to the sun. So it happens to be a perfect plant to grow indoors. The plant develops many roots and the pot must be wide and deep for the roots to develop in the pot. Taking care to transplant it at least once a year. The roots are cut and it is re-sown.

The leaves grow elongated, oval and green, forming a rosette. These leaves are so large that they can reach a meter in height. The leaves of the plant can withstand a light spray since the humidity in the environment is the ideal climate to develop its leaves in all their splendor.

The flower of this plant grows like a stick that comes out from the origin of the plant and has a terminal flower. At first it is only green in color and then it matures and grows into multiple bright red spheres, surrounding the flower rod.

I love the floral rod and seeing this arrangement of the bright red seeds. I don't know if they will be edible because I never ate them. But my little tronkin tortoise did like them.

The substrate must contain compost and small stones so that it has good drainage. Retention of water in the pot can rot the roots. It should not be watered regularly but when the substrate requires it because it feels dry to the touch.

Broken leaves must be cut from their base. Also the rod must be cut when the flower dries. Thus it remains its beauty for much longer, until the next flowering.

This is a plant that I grow in my garden and it receives all the care that all the ornamental plants that I grow have.

All photos are taken with my samsung mini s3 phone.

 

5
$ 1.18
$ 1.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

The turtle eats the fruit- then i guess it's edible enough if a turtle can eat it? But then turtles have different digestive capabilities than what we have

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, the little tronkin ate these seeds. But still I don't dare to try those grains. Although they look appetizing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At least you found a better snack for little tronkin. Maybe you could search if they're really good for human consumption or not?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did not get any information about it. I didn't even get a flower like mine.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then i guess it's not for humans since nobody seems to have tried it yet? Maybe yours is a hybridized one?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think it's a hybrid. What I think is that not many people like this spike with red seeds. By the way, they don't take photos of her. I'll keep looking for a photo of her online.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then i guess not many enjoy tending for this plant? It's a pretty one though and kind of huge. Good for making your garden look like a jungle terrain

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes, I love its long leaves. it is very decorative, rare.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice. But I'd the jungle king edible?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"Jungle plant", the name suits it. It's fruit also looks edible.Do you think it's rare?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. The fruit seems strange to me and it seems edible but I have not been curious to try it. It reminds me of the seeds of the pomegranate fruit. But the pomegranate is edible.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Waw! It's good to hear and learn about this new plant. It's such an amazing article. Thanks alot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What is the part you like the most?

$ 0.00
3 years ago