It's just a step with nostalgia

3 25
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Hi dear friends. Today I want to tell you that I went for a walk with my son in one of the most recognized shopping malls in my city. Believe me, it gave me a lot of nostalgia. My son and I remember the times when at the same time we are walking today in other years there were many more people. In the stores inside, in the walkways, in the aisles, in the street.

Today I only see with sadness what I am showing you, everything is desolate, there are many cars in the parking lot but inside the stores, there are very few people that I could see. We even looked for the different ice cream shops that were always here and today we only found one open, the rest are closed.

I consulted one of the people who attend a shop and she told me that there are many shops that closed due to lack of personnel. Others closed because they left the store or the country, and others are closed because it is January and they are resting from December's work.

But today is January 11, and most of the stores started working on Monday the 9th because they gave vacations before December 31.

The truth is that this commercial center was many years ago one of the most visited centers of attraction throughout the year. Everything changes and the changes that are happening in my country are very frequent and drastic. The economy is still in free fall. The market was dollarized but in the same way, the people are supplied by remittances sent by relatives who have left the country and are traveling the world in search of improvements for themselves and their families.

Mine have also left, there are several relatives who left this country several years ago to settle in North and Central America. Probably when my son finishes his thesis he will also have to leave in search of better work alternatives.

The minimum wage for workers and pensioners continues to fall and today a pensioner receives $6.7 a month. And day by day it is going down more and more. In other words, that amount is what the government gives me monthly as a pensioner. After working for 47 years in my country, I am still working, this is what I receive from my country as a pensioner.

For this reason, millions of people prefer to risk their lives going through so many difficulties in the countries where they have had to leave, in order not to have to face the hard reality that exists here. I am still working at 62 years old and I am still in private practice I continue to do many activities where I receive economic benefits. I also have my son who works and is a great collaborator.

Life is beautiful in spite of all the difficulties and yesterday I was able to go out with my son, watch the Canals in the back of the commercial center, we were able to have a friendly conversation, and then have an ice cream to say goodbye in the evening to this beautiful place.

Thanks to my dear @Telesfor who frequents my few publications in this place and leaves me his affection in the form of a tip, there is also another benefactor that I never saw before and has passed by here to leave me a tip for which I am very grateful. He is @ewyr Thanks also to all those who leave their kind comments.

4
$ 0.32
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

Hola amiga, comprendo su nostalgia, yo también la vivo, mi Estado es el más rico, en minerales y es el más arruinado de mi país. Ahorita andamos con una tristeza, que todo esta acabado.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww this is just too sad. The mall is not as lively as before. I do hope in time, everything go back to how it used to.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hi friend. Yes, I wish this whole mess would be over once and for all and my country would go back to being thriving and active. And I don't have to leave here to look for a better life with my son.

$ 0.00
1 year ago