Good memories

5 20
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

I remember it was quite an odyssey when I decided to study nursing but everything happened long before… when I was a 10-year-old girl my older brother gave me a book about the history of Florence Nightingale. Reading this book greatly influenced my decision to be a nurse.

From Unsplash.

I had no family members to influence me to take a certain college degree. So reading how this woman from an early age had so much compassion and pity for those most in need, to the point of offering herself to relieve the pain of the afflicted, inspired me.

It's how I start an investigation on how to start studying. I was in the third year, the ninth year they say in other places, my guidance teacher guided me towards this career which I was completely unaware of. I went to the headquarters of the institute where I was supposed to see my classes and when asking for information, they told me for which month I should be prepared to gather the required documents and information.

It happened, the scheduled date arrived. I went to the headquarters and wrote down all the notes I needed, and I also noted that there was a personal interview with the teachers, who were in charge of selecting the students, I finished writing everything I had to and I left.

To go home from the nursing headquarters I have to take two buses. That day when I got to the second bus stop, there was a line, so I had to wait... thank God for that! I took out my notebook and reread everything carefully while waiting and that's when my eyes stop at the date of the interview. It was today, that same day was the only day for the interviews and it was almost time for them... Time to run!

I hurried out of the line and took the first bus back theres. God was I scared! I thankfully arrived on time, they interviewed me. All good, now I just had to gather all the other prerequisites and wait when the list of those selected comes out.

I was selected along with 60 other people. Only two men among so many woman. It was all so nice back then. They were 3 years of studies. I was 16 when I began to see my nursing classes at my local university hospital. There I fell in love with my studies, my future profession and what I already envisioned as my next profession... medicine.

3
$ 0.13
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

It's great when we discover our best career path.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remember when i was in geology and i had a few chemistry classes. I was so fascinated with chemistry that i eventually changed majors to that XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When we can have the assurance of our best profession, that is great.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely. I see you found the assurance you needed in the healthcare sector and that's really nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, there is nothing better than working on what we truly love. In what we have the vocation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago