Emotions on the surface

5 52
Avatar for gertu13
9 months ago

Today I want to write about one of the saddest experiences of my life. For some of you who know me, you know that my profession is health care, so when there are needs of this nature in my relatives, it must touch in my heart to have to get involved with the illnesses of all of them.

Today, the mother of my nephews and nieces got sick. My sister-in-law, the patient I am referring to, is already a widow, she is suffering from a terminal illness. We are doing everything possible to make her feel better, and she is the focus of our daily attention.

All her tests indicate that she is suffering from cancer, already spread to several organs. Given her decline, we are turning to alternative medicine and if possible, when she recovers her strength, we will go to oncological therapy with chemotherapy.

The patient's children, who are my nephews, have tried to hide her illness from her mother and have only told her that she is suffering from a large ulcerous lesion in her stomach. So I have to respect her decision and hide this condition from her.

It is difficult to have to speak freely when there is a lie involved. The important thing is that they know their mother's character and think that she will take it very badly and give up the treatment with negative thoughts.

It's hard to try to smile when our soul is crying, but there are situations where you have to make your heart grow fonder and this is one of those opportunities. Not showing what you feel in order to give more hope to a patient is part of my life as a professional health care worker.

Today I am sad because I have been involved directly or indirectly with family patients with cancer pathology on three occasions. The first time was my mother, after 20 years she had another cancer that took her to God and the third patient was myself. Thank God I have been a cancer survivor for 13 years now. Now it is my sister-in-law's turn, who is like a sister to me because of the ties that unite us.

These days will be very hard for all of us around her but harder for her because of the treatment to follow. Our hopes are grounded in God and the medicine He has placed within our reach.

It has been a week since she started treatment. We hope that this body will find relief to prevent the progression of such a terrible disease. In God I trust.

The image is from unsplash.

3
$ 0.07
$ 0.06 from @Telesfor
$ 0.01 from @Adrielle1214
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
9 months ago

Comments

May God give her more strength to fight this suffering and overcome the pain and hope that one she will be a cancersurvivor like yours too.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

I also hope so in the name of our beloved God of mercy.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Amen Lord

$ 0.00
9 months ago

That is a very challenging for both of you, May God help you all.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Thank you for your good wishes 😙.

$ 0.00
9 months ago