Another beautiful region of Venezuela.

10 28
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

The Andes region is on the Andes mountain range. The states of Mérida, Táchira and Trujillo are the cities that form it. Mérida is also in intimate contact with the state of Barinas, you can go up to the mountain and end up leaving Barinas and do not realize until you enter the city of Mérida. Unless you see the welcome notices, and it’s also in contact with the Apure state, a purely flat region dedicated to livestock such as Barinas.

Merida has a hot and even polar climate. It’s located at 4000 meters above sea level but if you climb to the peak of the highest mountain range you will be at almost 5000 meters. The temperature will be 17°, 12°, even below 0° Celsius depending on the height and towards the most populated and low center of the mountain and the city we can find a temperature of approximately 22°.

This city of Merida is one of the ones I miss the most, for its climate, for its people who are all so kind, cordial and respectful. I had the pleasure of living with its people while I studied at its great university and lived for about those 6 years of the 8 years of my medical career, at the prestigious University of the Andes.

But it also has a foothill 200 meters above sea level, where the temperatures are 32° Celsius.

The Andean region has a population of plains, forests, mountains, xerophilous vegetation and perpetual snow.

In the fauna of the Andes in the mountain range is the Andean Condor. He belonged to my country at this point, but then he only came to visit from the neighboring country, because it’s known that he was on the verge of extinction due to man's ignorance. He was hunted unscrupulously for being mistakenly thought to eat live animals and kill cattle. These are the regions that this majestic bird usually visits. Although I say visiting but he must think that it’s still his and that’s why he flies over frequently.

Several birds were introduced to our mountain range and it’s giving results. This beautiful bird, up to 1 meter high, can fly up to 6,000 meters above sea level, lays an egg every two years on rocky sites and although it’s not beautiful because of its black plumage with a small piece of white neck and the rest of its neck it is devoid of feathers and is red. It’s a scavenger bird, but what fascinates me is seeing her fly in documentaries, which is the only way I've seen her.

We also have the spectacled bear in our mountain range, it’s the only native bear in this area. It’s called the spectacled bear because it has a white or beige halo of fur on its face that can reach up to his chest. It’s one of the smallest bears. It’s black or brown in color.

Also in this region towards the higher temperatures there are birds such as the “pauji”, the black eagle and the royal parrot, reptiles such as lizards, iguanas and there are also snakes.

In the years when I lived in this region in the mountain range between the city of Mérida and Barinas there was a beautiful place where trout farming was carried out. This touristy place has already disappeared and I don't know if there will be another place where this fish is kept, the trout.

Although in the city of Mérida there is a cable car to reach the highest peaks, I want to say that I never got on it. I wanted to know the snow but the panic from the heights did not let me go up to see this part of my beautiful country… But I can do it as soon as my country is ready to receive tourists again. It will be a good place to meet.

In addition to the climate, it has gastronomy different from that of the rest of the country. Its economy is based on agriculture where you can see the crops of flowers, fruits and vegetables in the mountains, on its slopes as you go up the mountain range by car.

It’s simply a beautiful panorama for the sight of every dreamer and lover of nature.

All photos are from unsplash.

8
$ 1.13
$ 1.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

I find your article to be very interesting Dr. I just wonder how the medical side of things is coping in this pandemic scam and on top of the sanctions. I like that you focus on the positive through all the trash happening.

Bless up!

Love and light!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your good comment on my article. Here I am retired, I no longer work as a doctor. And what remains for all of us is to take good care of ourselves. Each one takes care of himself as best he can. Since there are no conditions for us to be cared for in hospitals. I have seen many colleagues die trying to continue helping people in hospitals. But it is very sad how the health team does under these unsuitable conditions.

The beauty of nature wants to move on and she renews herself as far as she can. In the places where man intervened to help maintain natural life, he no longer does so and nature is dying. Not much can be done. But I am sure that nature makes its way and will continue on until everything can take another cause.

A fraternal hug.

$ 0.07
3 years ago

Wow that was heartfelt 💓. . Everytime I read on Venezuela especially when I do my research I find that the news actually cannot fully report on how devasted the country is. Like about this that there are no basic human right services. All the countries are together in this, they signed agreements as the United Nations of the world that despite our differences we shall have a bare minimum threshold. Never to finish anyone country completely like we see it done in Venezuela, it's also as if the international community's presence in there is limited in some way.

Dr I really hope the situation gets better for you and your team so you can get back to saving lives again. I don't know what else to say but agree with you that eventually nature will correct this flaw and renew the outdated like she always does. I have total faith in her and you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear. The good energies that positive thoughts give is very pleasant to receive. It feeds our soul. I have a lot of faith !!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow it's beautiful! the birds are very amazing and pretty too. Venezuela is a very nice place to visit. Nature is always the best.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, nature is always charming in all its expressions. And Venezuela is a country of great nature.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful nature and animals. We have to keep them. I believe you enjoy the kings of this mountain range.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't care if the animals are ugly or weird. with fangs or tails, I love nature. I love this city of Mérida where I spent beautiful years of my life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you. No animal is ugly ... I can only say let's be conscientious, because we are responsible for our nature.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Certainly. Thanks you're very pretty!

$ 0.00
3 years ago