An account of my passions.

16 40
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Those of you who have known me for a long time may realize that when I started here I shared articles about gardening and cooking recipes. Ever since I can remember in my childhood I enjoyed planting. I did it together with my mother and she instilled in me the knowledge about gardening.

I learned many things that are still useful to me today. Gardening tips on how to collect seeds of herbs and vegetables, or plant stems to reproduce, or put stakes to the plants so that they stick to them and many other things.

Then I was inspired to write some other things. I mean, a long time ago I never imagined that writing would be so enjoyable for me. Now, today I know that I can't do without writing. It's another passion I have, so now I write about so many things that happened to me, that happen to me or imaginary stories, stories that happened to other people or stories about other stories that I got inspiration from.

Today I am going to write about my plants.  In my garden there is a lot of green growing. My banana plant produced its bunch of bananas early, I know this because they are small bananas. Maybe I made the mistake of adding too much fertilizer to the substrate with banana shells that it gave it enough phosphorus to bloom so it did it before its time.

It’s a very nice plant that grew five feet and decided to bloom. It was unexpected, but it already has a small bunch of bananas of the dwarf banana species.

The bean plant is also blooming. It has so many pods and I pick them tender to eat in salads and soups, they are just delicious. Other than that they provide iron, fiber, vitamin B, magnesium, manganese and other important nutrients for meals.

I had prepared a small plot of land to plant chili peppers and some eggplants grew in it. The compost that I added to the soil included eggplant waste and it turned out that when I was preparing to transplant the peppers, all the eggplant plants were growing. The chili bell pepper plants should have stayed in the same place and there they are trying to produce their peppers.

The eggplant plants are producing their first flowers. They are small lilac colored flowers. The plant is still small so it has but a single flower on it, soon the next ones will come. Its scientific name is Solanum Melongena.

I have a tomato plant that is still very young and a garlic plant that came with the compost as well. So my garden is blessed because beautiful plants have been born and they will give me their best fruits.

A friend gave me some pumpkins a long time ago that turned out to have a taste and texture that I have never eaten in my life. I threw those seeds into my garden and a beautiful pumpkin plant is growing there. It has several fruits that will soon turn into an elongated pumpkin. Its scientific name is Cucurbita Moschata. It’s a pear-shaped pumpkin with a very strong orange color inside and its flavor is very sweet, it’s also great when used to prepare creams and soups.

I threw some seeds of papaya, a kind whose species is known as California, it is of intense orange color in its interior and very sweet. It was born in a corner of the entrance to my house and there I left it, it’s growing very leafy.

Now I just have to wait patiently for each and every one of them to have their products. What do you think? Isn't it great to be able to eat food from your own garden?  It’s simply delicious.

I want to end by saying that I never thought I would like so much to be able to write my experiences with all the activities I can do. I believe that what is done with love can never end badly. On the contrary, it is a pleasure to sow, to harvest, to write, to narrate all the experiences that may be pleasant for some people. Perhaps some will also be stimulated to plant and eat organic products from their own garden.

In addition to all this that I have just mentioned, I’ll tell you that I have also finished fixing up my medical office, which one day will be available again to attend patients who come for their ultrasound studies. This activity being my greatest passion in life, to make health diagnoses through images.

For the moment I have just summarized in all these paragraphs most of my passions in life. I hope you find something to tell that you are also passionate about.

All photographs are of my property taken with my Redmi note 9 phone.

9
$ 11.18
$ 10.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.21 from @KJPR007
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 6
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

There is nothing better, than you grow your own vegetables in your own garden. Did you know that you can bake those sweet orange pumpkins in the oven? We used to have a weekend house with a big land. We had so many fruits and veg on it. I loved it. I wish I had at least a small garden to grow my own vegetables. Enjoy yours later!

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Wow , look I saw a chef bake the pumpkins yesterday. I have prepared them fried and then dressed them but never thought to bake them. I will keep this in mind for when they grow up. Wish you could have your vegetable garden, it is so relaxing to plant.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello gertu....i like your post......es fresco y me encanta...queda con ganas de seguir leyendo mas

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thank you dear, it is nice to write about my precious plants. And even better that these topics please the readers. Happy to see you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its amazing! Harvesting from your own garden right? Aside from saving a penny from buying in the market, it gives us satisfaction as well. Soon I will making small plots too in our backyard. Its not ours but a relatives. I was just a caretaker. Then, i will update its progress. I will just wait for the rain to come. 😊

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Yes, it is true. It's relaxing, it's satisfying. Doing something you love and then enjoying its products is priceless. I hope you can do it when the rains come.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes I will thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

your garden overall must look really lush and lively. the bananas you have remind me of the bananas we harvest from the mountains before

$ 0.02
3 years ago

I call my garden "my jungle" because I have so many plants. I removed many flowering plants to plant fruit plants.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

well fruit plants are far more economical now, especially with the situation you have there. so it might not be all bad

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not bad at all hehehehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You know when the pandemic started, a new word has born. "Plantita/Plantito". It's a term to describe a woman or man who loves to take care of the plants. The society was so hyped and even had a barter system.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, I heard and read this term but I didn't know what this means. So I'm a "plantita/plantito"?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're a plantita. 😍 Filipinos made that term, and combined plant + tita (a tita or aunt who loves plants). If you're a guy, we call you plantito (a Tito or uncle who loves plants).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah ok, I understand. There are many words that are spelled the same in Spanish as in Filipino. Here "plantita" has the meaning of a small plant. But now I know that in the Philippines it means what I am. Thanks for explaining, that's great.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. We were colonized for so long by the Spaniards so the language greatly influenced us. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago