A love tragedy from ancient Greece.

22 46
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

I like the stories of ancient cultures, the Greeks, Egyptians, Romans and among others. The history of the old gods can be fanciful but I like the imagination that can be given to a story, and then there is our imagination, which flies to the rhythm of the reading forging our own adventure.

The history of Greek gods and those of their progeny is one of those that I will advance in this chapter. It’s a sad love story, although many love stories about the nymph named Echo are read, today I’ll tell you one between Echo and Narcissus.

From unsplash

Echo was a nymph of the woods who was raised by beautiful goddesses in charge of giving gifts in relation to the talents that the inhabitants of their environment should have. As such, they gave Echo the gift of the heavenly voice, hearing her voice was a delight and they say that no voice could ever compare to the sweet melody of her voice.

Meanwhile Narcissus was the son of the god of clear waters, rivers, and had the gift of beauty to the point that he was the most beautiful man in the world. Mythology says that he fell in love with himself. He couldn't stop looking at his reflection in the waters and saying pleasant words to himself for his great beauty.

Echo did not go unnoticed by the gods, for having her gift of the voice. Even Zeus, the god of gods and worthy representative of infidelity falls in love with the beautiful voice that came from Echo's lips, but for Echo, what Zeus felt towards her did not matter to her, so she didn’t listen to his advances. Echo did serve as an intermediary to Zeus in his continuous crushes, serving as an eloquent conversationalist and distracted Hera while he acted with his new love on duty. This interference from Echo was not overlooked by the goddess Hera, the protector of marriage and wife of the god Zeus, since she could not attack her husband for the deity that he was, she attacked Echo with a curse; She withdrew the gift given by the muses of the mountain and left her only a sad sound repeated at the end of her words.

Echo ran to the mountains to hide her shame. She couldn’t articulate a word, only say the last thing she heard someone else say, so in the forest she repeated the song of a bird or the sound of the river.

But it was there that she saw Narcissus and fell in love with him. She was hiding behind a tree while he looked at his reflection on the river. She fell in love with his great beauty, he was the most beautiful man she had ever seen in her life, and one day while Narcissus marveled at his great beauty he heard a noise and asked, almost immediately:

"Is someone else here?"

 To which Echo answered, on the other side of the tree "Here."

Narcissus says "Come" to which Echo can only reply "Come."

She proceeds to come out of her hiding place behind the tree and appears in front of Narcissus to declare her love and hug him, but when he sees and hears her he becomes angry and rejects her, brutally mocking her voice, because she only repeated the last words said to her…

She, very sad and disappointed, hid deeper into the mountains, among the caves and from there she wasted away, without eating or worrying about herself until she died. The mythology says that she has not died because she continues to repeat the last words or sounds forever, in any remote place. So what you hear deep in a cave when making a sound is Echo's sad response at the end of an articulated voice. It’s what is known as our echo.

Meanwhile Narcissus does not give importance to his meeting with the nymph and remains absorbed with his reflection in the river.

But the gods, annoyed with Narcissus's behavior by rejecting all those who declared their love to him, come to Nemesis the goddess of revenge and she casts a spell on Narcissus causing him to fall deeply in love with his own image, even more than before.

And one day when he saw his reflection in the river and could not bear not having that with him, he called his reflection and said "Come.”

When the echo of the mountains repeats "Come", Narcissus believes he’s hearing his beloved reflection and throws himself into the water, drowning in the desperate search for his love.

They say that his father, Cephissus, the God of rivers paid him a tribute in his honor, and at the place of his death he caused a flower named Narcissus to emerge.

9
$ 13.88
$ 13.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
$ 0.03 from @KJPR007
+ 2
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

Greek stories are always strangely filled with tragedies such as this one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right dear. And do you see between the lines or do you only see the tragedy itself?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes i see them but i still find the stories strange half the time. And too capricious

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting that you pick the saddest. Sad read...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you think this is the saddest? The stories all of Greek mythology are sad, dramatic, I don't know why all the lives of those people were marked by tragedies. I think that for today I will publish another one that will also seem sad to you, but you must see is behind the story, the teaching. It's like when I write about murders and crimes, it's not that I like them, I just want it to be seen beyond what I write. But readers always fall into the simplest way of thinking and that is to believe that I am depressed, spiteful or something. And it is something beyond the entire written word. It's what we can learn from that to grow, it's not what we can learn to hate or kill or take revenge.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Wow this comment is epic. The sad part of this one is echo, and the ruthlessness of the Gods who did her wrong. Its sad that she is actually defenceless even in death, so it's a flaw that's just not right, then again right and wrong is all definition and validations....

Today's story was epic too... Not sad at all, they acted accordingly, I think the comparison in strengths here is when nothing matters, nothing really matters but Gods spending eternity in dispute is torture so what's sad about that is that no-one is even looking to avenge them. I know it's mythology but we dissempower these characters in our realities too

That's why I got me some badass dragons amongst other ruthless buddies of mine, not pets but friends, free to roam and never come back but they always stay. . . We got Gods and angels watching over us through our pride and falls, we cry pandemic scam but yet we are more taken care of them we know.

Enough of that....

Your response was very good. As a reader I read to fit me in the storyline, as a writer I feel the writer and author of the pages so sometimes the comments come from both or the other...

Good comment 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like your comments, you really are a writer talking to an apprentice. Thank you for having the honor of having you among my commentators, it is actually a very good answer. I wait for you in the next story dear.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

I'll try not to hold my breath.... Thank you Dr!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

👏👏👏👏 I was fond of greek mythology since the first time I encountered them in a book. In numerous stories i read, i can't remember their names. Thanks for reminding me this one.. 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

On command, I will try to investigate to remember other epics.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please do and share it with us.. I need to have my own research too for a story i am planning in my next article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you and success with your research.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like a love tragedy stories from history too.We learned about Geeks,Egyptians and Romans history in high school.Honestly,I forgot a lot of them.So it is great that you written this article,so I can remember what I learned already.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How good, remembering is always good. I like to see all these stories in the form of documentaries on tv. I imagine the adventures they went through.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"The day I fell in love with myself, the most wonderful love idyll in the world began"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Narcissus is a very famous character from Greek mythology. There is a saying left for the conceited person that Narcissus.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you spammed again?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My comments have been spam for a few days now. The robot doesn't reward me. I don't understand what the problem is. I am very sad!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks for always coming to comment. Your messages do not reach me, they are always hidden.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I noticed that my comments are spamming, I'm not doing anything wrong, and I don't know how to solve it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really loved Greek Mythology. I always borrowed on our Library before when I'm in highschool and even watch some Greek Movies and TV series too. But now I forgot 😅 This is really a tragic story I only read it here. There are many God's and Goddesses I'd like to read more😇

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have few posts on epic stories. I'll post another one soon. I love. Thanks for the upvote.

$ 0.02
3 years ago