A fairy cactus.

18 26
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Cactus Acanthocereus Tetragonus:

It belongs to the cactaceae family and is native to Central America. Its common name is Fairy Castle, due to the way it arranges its branches. It's my new acquisition. I have grown this cactus before but it didn't turn out well.

It's a slow-growing cactus and does not exceed one meter in height. Its stem is light green. It grows in the form of a column, where its highest branch is located in the center, and the smallest ones are placed on the sides.

Its branches have multiple white thorns. Its central stem produces small stems around it, always straight, closely attached to its central stem. The stems have five sides. In the external corner of each of its sides, it presents its thorns, short and very sharp. It's acquiring a castle shape, hence its name as a fairy castle.

It tolerates semi-shade but likes sun exposure more, but it has to be done with caution. Direct exposure to the sun makes the moisture damage its roots and stems, rotting the plant. This is why my old fairy castles did not prosper because the humidity filled them with fungus and, sadly, killed my cactus.

It multiplies through its stems. They can be cut from their outer and lower stems, allowed to heal for a week and then transplanted. Its reproduction is not difficult. The problem is keeping it away from moisture and fungus.

There is no need to spray water on its stems, only on the substrate. And it should not receive water until the substrate is dry. This substrate must have good drainage.

It is a good cactus to be grown by beginners, but you have to be very careful with the water. Finally, this cactus roots easily and you can see it quickly adapt to the environment.

5
$ 0.15
$ 0.10 from @Ozzyy
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

I only have one cactus. That round variety with thorns all over. I acquired it from the school unattended due to long vacation. I like small plants. I think i will start collecting since i have one already.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is good to plant plants and collecting cacti seems great to me. Any question about it, if I can help you, please tell me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A new acquisition! Sad that it doesn't grow that tall but i guess 1 meter is tall enough for a fairy to live in. Will you be propagating this too once it gets big enough?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It does not need to grow much. I will hope it adapts to this environment. He's already a week old and he's doing well. In a month I will try to have new plants. Depending on whether I have fully recovered my health.

Thanks for the upvote.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope your health gets better soon. It must be frustrating to have limited movements for the time being. But i think a month of growing time would suffice him.

Ohh! I forgot to tell you! In the dorm I'm moving into, i can grow mini herbs there! What would be good to plant for a beginner like me?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But what kind of yerva do you want for food? Or what, cactus tell me, be more specific please.

Yes, I have been with this pain for two months, in truth I am already physically exhausted.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was thinking edible herbs and a dragonfruit plant? I like that fruit and i heard it's easy enough to cultivate

That's been a struggle. Is it that bad that you're fully immobilized?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Planting chives is easy. also chili peppers. Basil and rosemary, mint. You only need some pots and good organic fertilizer that you buy at the place where they sell plants.

Now, the dragon fruit is a tree over a meter in length. It must be on land. At the beginning, the dragon fruit is sown in a pot but having long branches with a 40 cm plant. you won't want a pot for her.

But for peppers you need pots with a depth of 40 cm.

for chives or surgeons you need pots 20 cm deep.

for the mint plant you need a wide pot, and 10 cm deep.

It is terrible to be disabled, especially with someone who is used to working 16 hours a day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then i guess I'll need to buy some pots on my first salary since there probably won't be water gallons or food containers i can use to improvise. I'll take note of those depths. Do they all need lots of sun? Because I'm not sure how sunny it gets in the place I'll be moving to but i was told it's spacious enough to plant at least

That's definitely gonna be a hard adjustment ;;-;; i really hope you recover soon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Legume and aromatic plants should receive at least 6 hours of sunlight

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What about fruit bearing ones like tomatoes? And maybe eggplants?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should buy seeds of small tomato and eggplant plants because they grow tall. and they need 6 hours of direct sunlight and 40 cm deep pots with well-fertilized soil.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was told the land here was like clay so i guess I'll be getting garden soil the next time i go home. Or have that delivered from the mall

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You must buy compost soil with many nutrients. In the mall they must sell good land with organic compost for edible plants.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seeem you're expanding your portfolio in the species of cactus you plant. You must be a gardening enthusiast.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I sow many plants my dear. I have a plant sale in my garage, only it has been a month or two that is a little neglected due to illness. Thank you to be so kind with me. you know? I am an inactive doctor, due to the tragedy of my country. I grow plants and make homemade pastries To support myself while my son finishes studying engineering or this government situation is fixed. But now neither one thing nor the other. I'm like in limbo. I keep posting while I can. I hope these steroids end my disability.

You are a love, God bless you. Thanks for your upvote.

Keep going in your studies, there is nothing more pleasant than studying what makes us happy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a nice hobby.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A good way to earn money and at the same time get away from worries.

$ 0.00
3 years ago