Modular Class: Lessons shouldn't be rushed

0 12
Avatar for gerl
Written by
2 years ago

I understand that we are all affected by the Pandemic. However, it does not have the same impact on people. By the way, I can express myself better by writing this that's why here I come. I just want to express my feelings; I don't want to complain about it in our group chat. Because I respect the teachers and will simply follow whatever instructions and rules they would be implemented. They are not the only ones who make decisions; those in supervisory roles do as well. But what exactly am I going through in the aforementioned modular class? Why did I tell not to rush? Being hurried can have a significant impact, particularly on children.

But why shouldn't the modular class being rushed?

The modular class is a learning class that uses printed modules. Due to the Pandemic, the students are studying at home. In our current situation, one of the family members teaches the student. In our case, I was the one who taught my children.

This is the situations with my kids...

I Have Three Children, Studying Different Level vs One Teacher which is Me

Housework and caring for my children are extremely demanding; 24/7 is insufficient. What about having a modular class? Each of them has their own online class with their respective teacher, and it's unfortunate when they both have online classes at the same time, causing them to miss the other two.

But that's the situation right now; all I can do is listen to what the teachers say. I had to forego cleaning the house and doing other housework in order to teach the children in their modular class. But because there were three of them, I could only teach one in a single day. Every time I cook, eat, or wash the dishes, I have to come to a halt. I also have to come to a halt whenever they take a bath. They are toddlers who require my full attention whenever they move.

Grade Level: Kindergarten, Grade 1, and Grade 2

They are younger students or beginners. My kindergartener is just a toddler. He had no prior experience with face-to-face classes. All he wanted to do was have fun. Whenever I teach him in his modular class, he is sluggish, drowsy, and has no desire to learn. He is one of my children who refuses to write. My first-grade son has a low sense of self-esteem. He always believes he can't, that he doesn't know, and thus refuses to study. When he made a mistake, he expected to be chastised. He also always says he'll go home to Bicol to study because he sees his classmates there. These are just a few instances why modular class is tough for me.

School is Different From Home

When it comes to learning, it is always begin at home. But I'd like to point out something else: anything can happen inside our home. Unlike in school, learning is what the children will do, and there is a teacher will teach them. At home, I do it all by myself. No one would spare me because my husband is working 12 hours a day. From morning, I do household chores. Even if we don’t finish everything, we should start a modular class at 2 pm. I only teach one child and it never finished because at 5 pm I have to cook again for dinner. If I rush my children, they will learn nothing from me. But because the modules are handed out, I feel more exhausted. And do you know the feeling of someone like me who piles up work, always awake and always worried? Just imagine ...

How I wish they would consider the number of students per household. It would be great if they make the other lessons shorter and focus on what's really important and need to be learned.

2
$ 2.84
$ 2.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Talecharm
$ 0.01 from @Adrielle1214
Sponsors of gerl
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gerl
Written by
2 years ago

Comments