Being A Home Teacher: My Biggest Achievement During The Covid-19 Lockdown

6 42
Avatar for gerl
Written by
2 years ago

"I'm A Mom Of Three Little Tornadoes And Multitasking Is My Superpower!"

Two years ago, we hadn't expected one of the alarming global crisis, the Covid-19. Although Covid-19 hasn't completely gone, I can say that we seem to be safe and free to go around again and do what we used to do.

SOURCE OF IMAGE

Despite the Pandemic, I'm not really convinced that I accomplished huge things like what I just did. I couldn't believe it, particularly when it came to teaching, as if I were a real teacher, because who am I and what do I know about such things? I admit that I also lost hope in life when Covid-19 came along. I immediately thought that I wouldn't be able to accept losing one of my family members. I also thought we would all die, and I was really a very negative thinker during those times. But when DepEd pledged that students continue to attend classes, I was suddenly encouraged. DepEd offers two options: online classes and Modality or Modular Classes. I was trying to think of the bright side of things, to remember that everything was only temporary. We must advocate for the youth's future.

Being A Home Teacher: Modular Class

My little Three Kids and Students

I was nervous mostly in my children's Modular Class. I thought that I couldn't teach them. They were three with different levels. How could I balance my time between three students and household duties? There were times I almost gave up on teaching my kids. I even told one of my kid's teacher that I want to focus on the other two and one of them will stop attending classes. The teacher didn't let that happen, she encouraged me to work for my part as a responsible guardian to my kids. I worked on it; there were many challenges, but I was vigilant to never let my exhaustion get rid of me. During those times, I simply assumed that was the people's new way of living. I always remember those people who are in the worst situations. If they can, so can we.

Year 2022: My Children Can Now Read

Covid-19 began to spread around the year 2020, almost next to School Year 2019-2020. That was the year when my children started learning. They were able to write alphabet, draw, and make different arts but they don't know how to read yet. The school offered us options and I chose Modular Class. I had a hard time managing my time. I tried different strategies but it didn't work out. So, I ignored all schedules given by their respective teachers and I made my own decisions. I told their teacher what I'm doing. I was the one who has been doing the other kids activities. Why did I do that? Because we're always hurrying so that we can finish answering the worksheets. The question is, did my children understand the lessons? I know they don’t understand and I feel guilty for that. First of all, they study to learn right? Not just to show to their teachers that they have completed the worksheets. And why am I doing other child's activities? Because I focus on them learning to read. Teaching them to read has not been easy. I needed control of myself when I was stumbling while teaching. I included the reading lesson in my daily routine. I just followed the step by step of reading instruction. There are many possible strategies on how to teach reading effectively. And finally, in my two years of perseverance in teaching, my children have learned to read. This is one of my achievements with my children. I told them that they don’t need to be top 1 in class especially this time with Pandemic, all they need now is learn to write, read and count.

I know other parents are doing their best too, we're thinking about what our children will learn. But of course, we have our own strategies and we know where our children can improve more. I am not encouraging you to do what I did, I am just sharing how I have been successful in teaching my children especially in reading.

"As long as we have Faith, Love, Hope, and Courage, we won't feel like giving up on life." -@gerl

SOURCE OF IMAGE

2
$ 0.52
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Adrielle1214
$ 0.01 from @jen-123
Sponsors of gerl
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gerl
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Laking achievement tlga para sayo un sis imagine tatlong makukulit at iba iba ang level, isa ka tlagang supermom

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sis. Halos naging normal na ang stress eh. Di mo akalain na umabot Tayo ng ilang taon na ganito ang kaligayan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a mother's duty as always. We can't avoid being an instant teacher, who will do it anyway? So of course as a mother, we are the ones that teach our kids. In fact, the mother is the first teacher. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The first teacher of every kids is the mother indeed. I know that once your child already learned and acquired it was already a fulfillment of yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salute ako sau sis for being teacher of your kids during pandemic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sis, napakahirap walang halong biro

$ 0.00
2 years ago