A Roller Coaster In My "Parent-Teacher" Life

1 29
Avatar for gerl
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Feelings

From 2020 to the present day, it has been difficult for parents and students to have online courses and modular courses. No one can be blamed because the reason why this is the case is also because of the pandemic. In my son's almost two years of schooling, this was probably the most difficult situation we have ever faced.

I chose modular classes for my kids over online classes due to the lack of usable gadgets in online classes. I will not even choose face-to-face classes, dangerous cases of Covid19 are still on the increase here in our region. They're young, kindergarten, 1st and 2nd year. I'm afraid to expose them outside.

Since my kids were so young, it made our situation even more difficult as I had to double myself as a multitasking mom. Of course, what should I prioritize? Who am I going to prioritize? My children's education dominates my mind and my heart. The health of my children and their safety are always my priorities.

Why did I call It A Roller Coaster?

Because I have all emotions while following the flow of the situation.

These are just a few of the things that interfere with my children’s modular classes:

Environment

Unsatisfactory Environment. Why? Because we only rent a small apartment, we agreed with the apartment owner that the only thing we could use was the apartment itself. Children have physical activities that are required to be done, that was implemented by the School. But they are not free to do it outside the apartment because it was prohibited to create noise, the owner of the apartment forbids it. Other physical activities cannot be done inside the apartment because there is not enough space. In short, we're all not allowed to make noise.

Distractions

Since children are studying at home, understudies will definitely involve numerous diversions. Just some of the diversions are commotion, other kin, and family chores. For someone like me who does all the housework alone, it is tough for me to combine homework with instructing school lessons to my children. I’m not blaming someone else for this, I’m fair saying how difficult it is.

Most parents are right, home is not a school. At school, children study and do a variety of learning-related activities. Teachers only teach students. There is enough time per subject and there is enough time throughout the day. But at home, parents teach their children. Some parents are not skilled in teaching. The parent may be good at teaching and may not be. While the parent teaches the children at home, they also do the housework. Some parents cannot teach because they have their job.

Insufficient Time

I have three children who are students, kindergarten, 1st, and 2nd grade. How can I adjust my time during the day for the respective modules provided by teachers? I tried several times and different strategies but always ran out of time. I got to the point that the only thing I could do all day was cooked our food and teach my kids modules, but we still had little time and couldn't finish all modules.

Impact Of The Pandemic At Home And At School

I don't want to think about negative things, but I will just share my observations with my children when the pandemic started. The beginning of the Pandemic came, my children also just started studying. They only had a year of experienced going to school, seeing, and being with their classmates. They experienced school events such as Nutrition Month, and Christmas. But, they didn’t even experience their First Graduation Day, Kindergarten, and Day Care.

I do not know either if my children understood what I was teaching on the modules given by the school. Of course, the values ​​that applied in everyday life, they certainly knew them from the beginning because this is what parents teach from their childhood. I was saying this based on my experience, this is only based on my experience. I don't know the others if they experienced the same as mine. About their communication skills and confidence.., it's badly affected.

For now, I will not stop experimenting with how I can accommodate time into both houseworks and my kids' modular classes. I will try to do more for my children so that they will learn more in their lessons. Right now, it's more important to me that they enjoy studying even at home and I hope they really learn even if I'm their teacher.

5
$ 1.04
$ 0.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
Sponsors of gerl
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gerl
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Feelings

Comments

What an explanation it is! Really our life is like Roller Coaster. Sometimes it goes up and sometimes it goes down.

$ 0.00
2 years ago